TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Reviews For Burning Bright

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2015 - 11:30 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Oh- BRIILIant! Hope you update soon and isn't it funny how things just sort of turn up when you don't expect it:) The harp is going to be significant- it has to be- it was Maglor's. Maybe it exercises some sort of siren-like influence on its listeners. Can't wait for an update!

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2015 - 07:40 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Fabulous and wonderful to see this update. If it was posted on Faeire I've missed it- so sory! I love the idea of Lindor getting the harp and Cirdan's satisfaction that he has at least one sailor- sugests there have been a few conversations going on behind closed doors! I like that sens e ofmore happing that you tell us. I am as excited as Lindir about what happens next... Hope you are working HARD on the next chapter:)



Author's Response:

Hey Ziggy o/ No, it's not on Faerie at all yet. I'll post it there when it's done, so I can give it some final edits and it gets read in at least one place without long, long gaps between chapters.  Lindir travels a lot, I can see him being a good sailor. Cirdan's probably learned to expect the worst by now, lol.  The harp was niggling at me, I knew there had to be more about it somewhere. Didn't quite expect it to turn up like this, but it's the kind of thing Gil would do. 

I currently have the next chapter open on the taskbar and am procrastinating wildly in all directions because it is intimidating me :D

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2015 - 09:24 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Beautiful, beautiful chapter. This story is so compelling. But reading this chapter I was totally mesmerized by the richness of the details and description and how you use those to layer the subtle understandings and curiosities among the main characters about one another--Erestor and Lindir, Lindir and Gil-galad and then introducing Glorfindel into the complicated personal relationships. ISadly, and this is where my self-absorption and envy comes in, it that the unfortunate effect upon me of feeling like I cannot write at all! I try to do things like this chapter and I never feel like I quite succeed. Congrats. Stunning job!

Maglor's harp takes my breath away every time it appears.

I cannot wait to read the next segment. Thank you so much for all the hard work and for sharing this with us. It really is a jewel.



Author's Response:

I edit and revise and whine to Red and am convinced each chapter is a disaster, and then you leave a review like this and completely blow me away! Thank you so much! I think I must keep this in the work folder for the rough days.

Tossing Glorfindel in to see what happened was interesting, he's given me ideas that weren't there before. I don't always plan this stuff - if I did I might spend less time wailing about what a mess it all is, of course. Maglor's harp turned up more or less of its own accord, but it felt logical and the kind of thing Gil would do. Now Lindir just has to do something useful with it...

Again, thank you. I'm still smiling.

Reviewer: maeglin Signed [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2015 - 08:21 pm
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Oh, yeah, Keiliss!  This story is developing into something really intriguing.  Lorien's orders -- so believable one gets the sense JRRT just didn't get around to writing that tale.    The Valar learn nothing and forget nothing, indeed!

Also, Celebrian's astonishment that some things actually happened before G was born -- classic!  Haha!



Author's Response:

Hi there, Maeglin. I'm glad you're enjoying this, thanks so much for stopping by to coomment. I think Galadriel's finding this hands-on solo parenting thing a bit intimidating at times *g*. The Valar --- yes, exactly!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2015 - 04:26 pm
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

<i>To them the Noldor were all the same, bright-eyed outsiders who had brought the sky lights and warfare the like of which had never been seen before, people who rode tall horses with saddles and iron shoes, fought with the straight, two-handed sword, and conducted incomprehensible feuds amongst themselves.</i>

Great summary of the Noldor--all the relevant details! Ha! Terrific.

<i>“Get them up!” Later he would smile at the look on Celeborn’s face: he had done the impossible and made Galadriel’s husband jump. “The warriors, yours, mine – get everyone up, reinforce the watch, every trail. Secure that crossing down the river… Now, do it now! Sauron’s army is coming. There’s no time to lose, no time left…”</i>

I literally startled when I read that line myself! another priceless piece of writing. Continues to be a riveting read.

 



Author's Response:

Yep, I missed this one. For some reason I don't always notice when I haven't responded on here, something about the layout and the way my eyes follow it. Tonight I had a new review and thought to check I'd acknowledged everyone... Ha!

You liked my summary of the Noldor? That's the best acoolade ever! Thank you - there's not a lot in canon about differences in culture that's useful in this context, so it's back to world building and hoping it feels right to those who know more than I do. Kind of prep for trying to visualise Numenor *whimper*

I love writing the Imladris bits - glad it's working. Thank you :)

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2015 - 07:46 pm
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Terrific chapter. Beautifully rendered. I enjoyed reading it so much, but not above writerly envy I have to admit!

Just want to call attention to a few of the parts I really loved.

First a wonder of characterization conveyed in lovely description.

His sparse, eloquent movement of fingers and wrist accompanying the words spoke of royalty and Aman-born nobility, whose graceful gestures Erestor sometimes tried, with middling success, to duplicate. Gil-galad used them, as did the Lady. Even Gildor did – especially Gildor, Finwë’s grandson, who wore his royalty with the unconscious ease of a comfortable old cloak.

Your Galadriel, of course, is always stunning--vivid and real and yet always entirely other. A lot of messing with magic has really set her apart. Love how, although others are find her unsettling and intimidating, to Celebrian she is simply a parent, one whose perceived craziness requires a great deal of patience. I loved Galadriel trying to tease her about Halidir and Celebrian refusing to even engage on the subject. As the mother of a daughter, everything about the two of them rings so true for me.

I adore Malgalad's lines. Especially the last one.

Now – wake the child and scatter your stones. It is time to go.

Loved the battling magics in that part.

OMG! Erestor was as wonderful as ever and Gil-galad also, obviously!



Author's Response:

I so prefer the name Malgalad to Amdir, it has a wonderful ring to it, sort of rolls off the tongue. I liked finding the balance between him and Galadriel, watching them size each other up. Galadriel and Celebrian are always great to write, the dialogue just seems to happen without much help from me -- Celebrian has my younger daughter's voice and the same disbelieving stare :D

That piece about Glorfindel and the hand gestures - THANK YOU. I could picture it all so clearly but I struggled for days to find words to explain it.

This story comes slowly, so slowly. I can't tell you how much it helps to get a review like this, to know someone is reading and liking it and that the chapter comes across the way I hoped it would. Thank you so much! Now to start wrestling with the two chapters that had to wait for the AinA to be over so i can beat them into shape.

 

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: August 22, 2015 - 09:16 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

This was the painful chapter, I was ready and waiting to re-read. Very well done. But never entirely without humor when Gil is in one of your stories. A major reason I love them so much.

“Oh don’t be an ass, this is bad enough.”

Gil-galad let go of a reluctant laugh, Erestor didn’t join in. “I’ve missed that. There’s not many left here who’ll tell me I’m being an ass. All right, you killed an elf. Start at the beginning. How did this happen?”

This story is such a pleasure to read. Just thinking about the Avari and the Elven rings. Now that's an AU I would never write, but certainly love to read. 



Author's Response:

How odd. I do remember replying but there's nothing here :(  Some kind of internet glitch perhaps?  

I can't (won't, lol) say how long and how much work this chapter took. It was all in Gil-galad's point of view originally and I had to swap it round to Erestor's because I could see it would work better, something I hate doing.  I think it worked in the end, I hope so anyhow.

The Avari with a couple of rings of power....  I might not be the person to write that idea, but I would be right there to read it. That's the kind of AU I loe - change one detail and see how far the picture distorts. (I still want to try Curiouswombat's bunny, in which Gil-galad marries Elwng).

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2015 - 03:42 pm
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

A wonderful update, Keiliss. Where to start? I think it's Gil I feel most for- he will beleive that erestor has a thing going with Lindir and that he does not want him anymore- quite a shock for a king, and a High King at that! And then Erestor's real motive and concern- Badger. Yes- that will, I am quite sure, come back to haunt him at some point. Best he gets it all out there now, as well as what he said to Annatar. (I need ot go back and read those tales- get some deep inspiration!!) I do love your Gil. I was never interested in him before and now he seems very present, very full as a character, intersting, assertive, confident- wise, and a little vulnerable.

 

OOh- and Glorfindel -well! Thsi si a real departure from the usual. I love that he has a secret mission- I know you have hinted at that, prob told the story, elsewhere. I have always htought that was part of Gandalf's mission but I love this idea- it makes perfect sense that this is why Glorfindel alone has been returned, and he is just very careful, waiting, watching. And then there is the backdrop of the war in Eregion, and Numenor to be persuaded to join in and help defeat Sauron. For the time being at least. Great ideas, so very satisfying to read this.



Author's Response:

I think Erestor is one of the very few people who've ever got through Gil's defenses, made him vulnerable, and the whole thing must have been pretty unsettling for him. This chapter was not easy to get right - I knew what I was trying to do, but emotions aren't easy, especially when there's a fairly strict pov and that person is a bit confused about his own feelings -- there were a lot of rewrites, lol. Getting a review like this makes all the pain worthwhile. And yes, I'm pretty sure that whole business with Badger is going to come back and bite them - not any time soon, but it's there.

I think Gandalf and the rings is Ancarion, yes? Glorfindel -- if you have time, check Glorfindel's dream in the last chapter of the first part, BB: The Road. He's only slowly finding out what those over in the West want from him  and he's not very comfortable. Plus he promised himself at the start that he'd make up his own mind about things, not blindly follow orders this time.  Glorfindel himself - I don't know if this will make sense, but I made two tiny changes to the way I normally write him, he has a girl waiting for him across the sea, and his eyes are grey rather than blue. And they changed how I hear his voice, gave him more of an edge -- how much of an edge remains to be seen.  Of everyone in this story, I find him the most interesting to write.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2015 - 09:37 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

I love your Galadriel and her rather brusque and not exactly text-book parenting skills. I always feel that Celeborn is the one Bri is closest to. And I love this introduction Haldir has to his future queen! As always your descriptions are so textured and sensuous, and hte story telling sublime.



Author's Response:

Eish, I wish you could edit comments here. Just spotted my typo in the previous reply - that was meant to be 'thanks so much for the comment' --- :D

I think Galadriel is the kind of mum who all your friends would think was incredibly cool and non-fussy and you would do a lot of teenage cringing over. There's no lack of love, just she's not a very fluffy, mumsy kind of person and she forgets about basics like dinner time and kissing the hurts better. I think Celeborn would be much better at that. I always feel sorry for Haldir in this chapter. They do not teach you about this kind of situation in basic training *g*.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2015 - 06:28 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Just having fun reading the next installment of your wonderful Eregion fics- or fix as I have begun to think of them:) I was seeking something about elrond and as always, your work just enlightens me, makes me think- oh yes, of course. That's how it must have been!



Author's Response:

One of the things I really like about Elrond is the way he grows and changes over time, just as people always do. He's the boy raised by his parents' enemies, he's the young man interested in healing but carrying a sword for his king, a military commander, then a healer, a husband, a father, the man shepherding his people through a time of change and decline -- the movies left me with a lasting impression that in the final years in Rivendell he was a bit like the last British Raj, responsible for overseeing the transition and making sure his people got safely on the boat for home before things got too edgy.....

You see? You always get me wanting to ramble on about other things!! (not that I need much excuse to ramble on about Elrond).

Which is a very roundabout way of saying hi, that's so much for the comment, and I hope you found something helpful :)

 

Reviewer: Angelica Signed [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2015 - 08:31 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Yay for posting here!

Every new chapter is an excuse to reread and reenjoy (?) the older ones. I was never much of a Gil-galad fan until I met yours, here and in other stories, and wow! *falls in love*

Looking forward to more chapters



Author's Response:

I love my king too :D I'm posting fairly slowly because I don't have enough chapters done and know eventually there'll be much longer waits on here. Trying to get further ahead (also trying to get more done before I tackle the AinA). I'm very flattered that you're rereading - thank you sooo much!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2015 - 02:15 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Poor Haldir, trumped by a slip of a girl! How embarrassing.

I love Galadriel's guilt here about being what she deems less than the perfect mother. Fun to see something rattle her confidence a little.

“Before you were born...”

She sounded impressed: Galadriel was less so. “I didn’t wake full grown at Cuivienen, dear,” she said tartly.

I know exactly how Galadriel feels. My grandson asked me what year I was born last night and then said, "Wow!" at my answer.

Enjoying re-reading this very much.



Author's Response:

Anyone over thirty (or the elven equivalent) is ancient, yes! Not so diplomatic, Alex *g*

I did feel for Haldir. Nothing about keeping the Wood safe from orcs and stray southerners ever prepared him for Celebrian.

I meant to wait till I had at least ten chapters up before I started posting here, but it's taking longer than I ever imagined (too many smaler projects that it's had to give way to). I'm hoping this will be incentive to start working a bit faster.

Flattered you're re-reading. Thank you, glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2015 - 12:48 am
Title: Burning Bright: Answers in the Dark

Good to see you posting this here! I'm so glad that the story has been progressing well, recently.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Himring. I thought I might be enough ahead to start posting here without so many of the really long gaps that have kept happening, lol. 

Reviewer: Rhapsody Signed [Report This]
Date: February 15, 2015 - 08:22 am
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

I started to read your novel some time ago (as you know... so much to do, not much time), but at the end of the day... a wee bit of reading was a treat. Until a few days ago, floored by the flu and sleeping is hard: I caught up and last night I impatiently searched for books 2 (I found it, no worries!), because I was not ready to leave it at this.

Writing a novel is not easy, doing it within 30 days has my utter respect and your novel shows that it can be done and still make it a great fine story. It is a page turner, before you know it you finger  drifts off to the next chapter because you want to know how everyone is faring, where it will take them. I know that you will sit there shaking your head and muttering: it didn't write like a page turner to me... I know, I so know.

But I am curious, I am wondering how that boat still can be there when the instructions had been to set it free so that it would return to Aman. I cannot help to think that our famed shapeshifter has placed the boat there and tries to deceive Glorfindel that the rings should be delivered there. That would be something. But there is only one way to find out, so off to AO3 I am :c)



Author's Response:

Ahhh, but who else might have put the boat there? And is the boat there, or is it a mirage, an illusion? And if not, whose agenda is at play here :D Even Red doesn't know the answers, so.... later. When the story tells me it's time.

I was so thrilled to have this review, sweetie. I took a break from this world over December/January while I dealt with all the swap fics and it's always hard to get back into something after a break. This was the prod I needed! I'm sorry that you've been ill but so happy that you're enjoying this.

Didn't write like a page turner, no, lol. The original NaNo draft just trundled along and did its own thing --- it even managed to surprise me, like the bit where Erestor killed Badger and I just kept writing and at the end of the scene went 'wtf??'. The editing and polishing to where I was happy to post each chapter took weeks though. Whatever the good in NaNo, it does not turn out tidy narrative. Loooots of editing and adding texture needed.

Thanks again *hugs*

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2014 - 03:45 pm
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

Oh my! Amazing end to this. Full of portent and who knows which is the side of Good and which is Evil- it comes in many shapes and shades I suppose. What is amazing as well is that I am quite convinced that this is true of the Valar- I had thought the same! After all they were pretty determined ot get the Silmarils, why wouldn't they want other atrifacts of power?? I have often though that. But I had not thought that Glorfindel would be the one- in my stuff, it's Gandalf who has to bring them back -and of course, he succeeds.

The scene with Erestor is very very erotic, and the undercurrent of sadism, of control, of Erestos acually losing hiomself with Annatar is very powerful.

As always, fabulous writing- you said you had started a sequel? So I am looknig out for it:)



Author's Response:

Hope your next chapter is coming along :)

There are no real blacks or whites, no. Only greys. I started with two basic facts - a lot of people seemed to want those rings, and at the end they crossed the sea with Elrond, Galadriel and Gandalf. So it's a story we all know the end of, it's the middle bit that's important here. I could see the Valar wanting them and using whatever means they had, what I needed was to work out why, beyond pure greed. And then I imagined Sauron with the One and the Three and how they probably didn't trust the Noldor to get it right and it all made sense.

This chapter was good to write - it took a while, final chapters always do, and both scenes were draining to write, each in their own way, but the challenges were good and it put both Erestor and Glorfindel's situations in context. I never planned to end with nothing resolved, it's not my style, but as someone said it was the first part of the story, moving everyone into place, Galadriel on her way to Lorien, Erestor to Numenor and Glorfindel - he has his own journey.

I guess you've found the sequel over on my website (it's also on AO3 if that's easier) --- I'll post it here and on Faerie later, when I've had some distance and do final edits (that's what I did with this, and I couldn't believe how much cleaning up it needed before I posted it here, lol).

I've loved your reviews, it's wonderful to get such a good response from someone whose writing I find so utterly complelling - you are a master storyteller. Thank you so much, Ziggy, it's a joy seeing these chapters through your eyes. 

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2014 - 12:49 pm
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

This is a staggeringly awesomely wonderful chapter. The relationship between Galardriel and her daugter is very very well conceptualised; there are tensions here that are not from history but from Galadriel's own nature, her unwillingness perhaps to give into any weakness. And that touch with Thorhof, not saying anything but judging nonetheless, just accentuates that beautifully. Her apprecaition of the dwarves, of Moria, of the culture is emblematic perhaps of her learning and power/magic, and her deep knowledge and experience. I love that scene with Durin- and every single detail of Khazad-dUm, knowing what will befall them. Thorhof too is a marvellous character but Durin... yes. You must come back to Durin. 

Every scene is luscious- a jewel, full of colour and sensuousness. I found myself seeing, hearing it. Again, those gorgeous little details like the amethyst just lift this beyond fanfic into something quite else. I have such a complete image of Khazad-dum now because of this- I can't imagine any other story will be able to dislodge this now!

 

And the wonderful 'battle' scenes that are not battle scenes but view it obliquely as just amsterful- sorry I am gushing but I am really deeply captivated. Again, it's those details, like elrond remembering Madhros and Maglor's advice/ habits etc just give this a resonance and depth. Celeborn's noticing the broth, his 'fighters' -not warriors but some sort of guerilla group harrying and picking off the orc bands they can hear calling at night, the fact that Elrond tells them fire gives them courage, they lose half their number, Celeborn knows this..all of this feels very convincing, very real. It has the feel of an army on the run, in hiding but not quite. 

Oh- and the commander of Sauron's army, with green and gold banners and who let Elrond go...now there's a mystery. I feel you won't be revelaing that but actually, I don't mind- lots of scope for more stories to come.

Really really first class as always.

 

 



Author's Response:

My heart sank when they reached Moria because I had never spent much time thinking about dwarves and their culture and how they lived in those great underground cities but somehow it just opened up as I went along and I was fascinated by all the questions of how it would look, how they would live.... I do love writing the dynamic between Galadriel and Celebrian and watching Celebrian grow. Don't think Galadriel ever thought of herself as maternal material, lol - she'd defend Bri with her life, but being gentle about crossing that bridge was just not her way. And she knows it and I think wishes she was different but knows she can't be. It's yet another way she's feeling Celeborn's absence.

A friend who is brilliant at thinking outside the box wondered if Durin would ever have reincarnated as a woman, so she gets credit for the idea, but for the rest --- s/he was just 'there' and that is one of my favourite scenes in the fic. Thank you for liking it.

I envy people who can write (and enjoy writitng) good strong battle scenes, but going at it from an angle is more comfortable for me (yes, I write like a girl *g*). But seeing how people think and deal with situations is what interests me, and I could see Elrond starting to remember things he'd seen when he was growing up, things he'd been told, and putting them to use. As for Celeborn, he's been fighting for a very long time, it's almost normal life for him. I have a mental image of someone like a big silver cat, at ease in his skin and looking calmly out at the world, if that makes sense?

The commander comes back, of course :) In Answers in the Dark. But you guessed that!

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2014 - 09:34 am
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

Never know what you can believe.” Gil-galad sounded put out. “And the people who were there don’t put themselves out to get the record straight either. Like that business about your mother turning into a bird, Elrond.”

wonderful! It has always seemed silly some of the stories told and I have laways thought elwing irresponsible to say the least to jump and take the Silm and leave her children with those she believed would murder her! So this lovely little prosaic aside is perfect. I love the portrayl of Gil - so practical and very sensible. And manipulative and clever- the consumate politician in spite of his seeming dislike of it but as you point out earlier, he was, in Noldor terms, rather long lived for a king!!



Author's Response:

Heh, Gil probably got away with a lot through sheer charm or by convincing people he wasn't as smart as he in fact was. I think to balance the opposing forces in a kingdom like Lindon would take a clever politician with a lot of practical good sense.

The swan story always bothered me rather. I'm sure Elwing did something strange - she was part Maiar after all, and in my 'verse a fey, damaged girl - but not sure about sprouting wings. My instinct is to treat those kinds of things, along with life under the stars with no sunlight, as allegorical or at best Tolkien being whimsical. My head doesn't quite go there, lol.

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2014 - 09:00 am
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

They brushed against one another as they moved about, storing the closeness and familiar warmth for later memories. There was very little to do and all too soon it was time to move on.

 

These little details are just one of the features that lift your writing from the common herd of fanfic into something really quality- professional standard and a joy to read. And you write things I really want to read as well - just a delight to be reading on a blustery Saturday afternoon when I've been out all morning in the wind! Lovely.



Author's Response:

Ha. Your weather sounds the same as ours today. It would have been a perfect afternoon for writing if the electricity hadn't been off. Thank you for your very kind words about my writing, it means a great deal, especially coming from such a gifted wordsmith. I play with things I want to read or am curious about, and that's why the focus on the little details  - those are things I always wonder about, the background that says so much about people.  

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2014 - 04:51 am
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

Breathless and brilliant! I can't stop and know I am skimming and missing your bejewelled prose but oh Celebrimbor! so sad and so honourable and couragous! True Fëanorian in Maglor&Maedhros' tradition rather than the more feckless and reckless younger sons. 



Author's Response:

I want to read an AU story where Celebrimbor survives and joins in the fight against Sauron using weapons he's designed but never made because he really wanted to change the family legacy :) I so did not want him to die! And yes, I agree  he had the honour and the high ideals of the best of his family.

I loved finding this string of comments -- it's such a cool feeling to know someone liked the story enough to rush through it. Thank you so much, Ziggy :) You did my miserable writer's block the world of good today.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2014 - 04:25 am
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

There is so much to love in this story- I have never really bene that interested in Gil-Galad, preferring woodelves, but since I got to Imladris and Erestor (who is fascinating) I've changed my mind- and now you have got me a bit more interesrted in Gil. But Ost-in-edhel is where the real action is- funny that it is written about so little and yet is such a rich mine for fanfic. Your idea of using the Rings in htis way is absoultely wonderful and that scene with Sauron just watching and then killing Tolfaen is superb. I am really pleased to have found this wonderful story AND you are already posting a sequel -my cup runneth over!!!



Author's Response:

The outline of the scene where Sauron kills Tolfaen is the earliest written in the whole story. I was dabbing with something that didn't work but I knew that part would fit in somewhere and then the story spread out from there. It ended up being one of my favourite scenes, along with Durin and with Glorfindel's dream.

I don't know why there isn't way more fiction set around Ost-in-Edhil, there's so much contradictory canon to play with and there's all that foreshadowing, or the story of a survivor somewhere, or.... just so much to play with.

Love writing Gil - he was in my second fic ever and is the person I find easiest to hear, but Erestor gets into most things I write, even when it has nothing to do with him *g*.

 

 

 

Reviewer: elfscribe Signed [Report This]
Date: January 01, 2012 - 01:46 am
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

Reposting my MEFA review.

This is Book One of an ambitious story surrounding the fall of Ost-in-Edhil. The story abounds with politics and Kei's wonderful characters. As always with Kei's work, reading this is to fall completely into a fully envisioned part of Middle-earth in all its wondrous detail. I enjoyed traveling through Eregion with Lindir and Erestor, meeting other characters like the Avari Badger, an elf whose culture seems so different from the others. Galadriel and Celebrian's trip through Kazad-dum was another treat. Many of the characters are ones we've encountered before in Kei's work, wonderfully re-envisioned for this story. Not to mention the incredibly charged erotic scene in the last chapter when we meet Kei's powerful rendition of Annatar, as seen through Erestor's eyes.

I particularly loved the opening scene in which Glorfindel is traveling to Middle-earth with the images Kei paints of the sudden drop off of the seas, Glorfindel's swan ship, the birds flocking about telling him land is near, Gil-galad with his hastily tied hair and Glorfindel, tall and golden-haired --all wonderful, reminding me of a pre-Raphaelite painting. This first book felt like players on a chess board all moving into place to get ready for the next part of the action. Looking forward to more.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for re-posting it here, love. That's such a thoughtful thing to do. Seeing the story through your eyes is always a wonderful experience, I'm flattered you think so well of it this far. And once again, thank you for the MEFA nominations. 

*hugs*

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2011 - 02:39 pm
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

I like Durin being a woman. My Eru has no sex, but making him a woman was an idea too.

About this kinslaying, I had a similar discussion with my beta about putting an elf to death long ago. But he'd killed another elf. Something similar happened when Eol was sentenced to death. I think it was not kinslaying. I guess self defence is in a gray area...

Author's Response:

I think self defence against anyone is what it is, I certainly don't see Erestor as a kinslayer, nor does Lindir, but Erestor is so mired in guilt over Annatar he's not seeing it clearly. Eol - Eol killed the king's sister, I'm not sure anyone was thinking clearly there- and I suspect things were a lot more stringent in Gondolin than was usual in elven realms. 

Durin as a woman was Nikkiling's brilliant suggestion, I liked the idea of reincarnation and trying to hear his/her voice while writing him/her was so interesting. The conversation between Durin and Galadriel is one of my favourite parts of the entire story. That and Glorfindel's dream right at the end.

So happy you're still enjoying the story, CC.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2011 - 03:34 pm
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

Oh my! That was a real surprise (or rather several surprises). In a good way...

The thought that the taboo against elf killing elf might actually in part be a consequence of Alqualonde is interesting.



Author's Response:

Arrrrg! Sorry for the late response, I never got a notification (again). I need to train myself to check for reviews. 

Surprises are good :D Very happy you didn't guess where things were going. Mind, I didn't plan it out either, so maybe that shows. I wrote the entire scene in one sitting (the horrors/joys of NaNo) and it all just sort of happened. It was the first time I realised Lindir wasn't going to vanish as planned when they got to Mithlond.

Other, awful things happened after Alqualonde, but I think that would be a common reference point, a day of terrible firsts that the Noldor would have taught their children about and carried major guilt over. Before, I get the sense the idea of killing an elf would have been too foreign to contemplate, let alone need rules about.

Reading back, I realise I sit and think about strange, strange things, LOL.

Much thanks for commenting.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2011 - 12:57 pm
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

Interesting chapter. I *love* Lindir and I like how you write him. Erestor too. He must feel bad about killing an Elf, but he had to.
I have been wondering about death penalty among the Elves. Turgon put Eol to death, and I used that on a fic where an Elf had killed another.

Author's Response:

Sorry for the typo on the previous response *g* - wish the site allowed edits. Also wishit wouldn't randomly not send notifications. Ah well.

I'm so pleased you like the way Lindir's developing. I didn't have a very clear picture of him to start with (mind, he was meant to be a very temporary secondary character), but as things have moved along I've got to know and like him. Erestor's pretty jarred by what happened, yes. It'll take him a while to accept he had very little choice, specially in the middle of nowhere.

I've never seen anything that suggested a standard response to really heinous crimes like kin slaying and treason, but then we're led to believes elves didn't generally do that (which I take with many grains of salt) I've always felt Gondolin might have been more strigent about major transgressions, so killing Eol made its own kind of sense. In Lindon, Gil-galad was trying to keep the peace between a whole range of elven cultures, so I thought exile would be more likely. There'll probably be more about that in Book Two.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2011 - 12:45 pm
Title: Burning Bright: The Road

Still reading, and enjoying the story. =)

I can't get out of my head the image of two small and cute dwarves now!

Author's Response:

Dwarf childred. The absolute last people I ever imagined writing, lol! I'm so glad you liked them, CC. They did seem rather adorable, Bri certainly thought so :)

No results found.




You must login (register) to review.