TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Reviews For Art/graphics

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: mor2904 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 08, 2017 - 10:08 am
Title: Book Blubs

I love this Fingon!.



Author's Response:

I adore so many of her character portraits. I was wondering about the markings on Fingon's face and her response to that was, "Battle bodyart))) He goes to rescue Maitimo)!" That just made it more wonderful for me. I remember as a little girl in the reference section of the library sitting in a corner and obsessively pouring over obscure references to ethnic and aboriginal body art of warriors around the world over the centuries. The concept fits Fingon perfectly who carries everything to the furthest extent.

Imagine his father asking, "How could do anything so insane? Alone and unprepared!" And Fingon answering, "I was prepared. I covered my face with war paint and I was determined to succeed or die trying. One cannot underestimate that power behind that, coupled with my love." Maedhros had a very good friend.

Reviewer: mor2904 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2017 - 12:40 pm
Title: Book Blubs

I don't know what happened: there were two identical reviews, and now one has disappeared, and your response too, Oshun.

I apologize for any mistakes I'd made. :(



Author's Response:

Oh, whoops! Well, my 'thank you' was not exactly deathless prose! But I did send you a picture of Fingon and the eagle! One you've probably seen a thousands times but a fav of mine! 

Fingon by kimberly80

Reviewer: mor2904 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2017 - 07:58 am
Title: Book Blubs

Oh, this'll be great.

Perhaps he can ask Fingon to write a prologue (about communication with eagles). ;)

 

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2016 - 05:20 am
Title: A Sad Tale's Best for Winter

I do like Celebrian in htis- so much her mother's daughter and I like the way you point out things about her- that she was in teh shadow of Galadriel, and yet she still managed to stand out somehow, her delicacy and steel, her cleverness and subtlety. And the rascally Erestor- very much the best way ot see him. Such a great fic.



Author's Response:

Thanks so very much. I have always thought that Celebrian had to have been pretty amazing given the family she had around her, to whom she meant so much, although Tolkien says so little about her. I also could not resist exploring what it might have been like to have Celeborn and Galadriel as parents--OMG! especially Galadriel as one's mother!! I adore writing this version of Erestor also. So happy you liked him.

You made my days with these lovely comments!

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2016 - 05:07 am
Title: A Sad Tale's Best for Winter

This is one of the best tales in this period. It's delicacy and poignancy of Maedhros' loss is perfect, the lightness of your touch dealing with such terrible and tragic loss just emphasisies it -and makes it powerfully 'real'. And the 'scenery' is magical- perfect for Christmas. Very sensual and textured actually. I love this.



Author's Response:

Wow, Ziggy! What a wonderful comment to wake up to this morning! I am so thrilled that you like it so much. I wrote it from a place close to my heart. I do love all of these characters a lot.

Reviewer: Sleepless_Malice Signed [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2015 - 03:12 am
Title: A Sad Tale's Best for Winter

Oh well .. I stumbled over this yesterday night by browsing the Maedhros-AO3 Tag for ships others than Fingon/Maedhros (and admittedly I love this dysfunctional family of Maedhros, Maglor and Elros/Elrond to pieces, and yes I also enjoy it when it ends up with a ship, given it is portrayed in a specific manner) - and here we are :D

This story is so wonderful - the fascination Elrond feels upon Nelyo, his emotions, his thoughts, the tree decoration and everything are so wonderfully written and so believable with all the details you added throughout the story. But there's just so much more in it: humor, character exploration (i love Erestor here), the hints of Celebrian in regard to Galadriel, their own relationship as an equal match to each other, Celebrian as a strong personality herself .

>“No, not actually. That was but puppy love, or hero worship, or adolescent lust, or all of those together.” Everything I said was total bullshit. I had loved Maedhros with all of my young heart.<

And I adore this line to pieces, because it says so much about their relationship, about Elrond's personality and his character, just as much as this line does: >Elros used to tell me that I had an open heart--as often as not a criticism or a warning. But, still, I suppose this is what he meant.<

Thank you so much for writing this, because it really saved my restless night yesterday :D

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled that you found this one and enjoyed it. I vividly remember what a huge kick I got out of writing it. I love doing the dysfunctional family thing. I also love having characters fall for Maedhros. I have had so much fun with this version of Erestor over the years. I am really happy you liked him also. I love trying to make Celebrian a worthy in her own right--those parents!!--they really must have felt like living legends to those around her as a girl, but Elrond was able to see beyond all that and fall in love with the young woman herself.

What a nice surprise to wake up to this review today--bleak December here in Brooklyn, although we have yet to have any snow.

Reviewer: IgnobleBard Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2014 - 02:14 pm
Title: A Sad Tale's Best for Winter

This chapter set in Imladris is equally impressive. It's so great to see Celebrian as a match for Elrond in personality. She really shines here as a fully realized character in her own right and not as an appendage or tragic memory. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and you did an amazing job balancing these two periods in Elrond's life.

Dawn's calligraphy and illuminations beautifully illustrate some of the best moments as well.



Author's Response:

Thank you again!! Dawn is really, really good at that. I had fun doing Celebrian. I figure as the wife of Elrond, mistress of Imladris, and daughter of Celeborn and Galadriel, she could not be just a big fat zero. I hate the idea of fics in which her role is be only a victim. How flat even that tragic story without her having been a person at all before. I'm tried! Thanks so very much.

Reviewer: IgnobleBard Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2014 - 02:13 pm
Title: A Sad Tale's Best for Winter

And it was a pleasure every time. You always manage to convey scenes and personalities so well but you did a particularly amazing job with this story. This chapter focusing on Elrond's childhood, his sensitivity and fascination with Maedhros, is poignant and tender. There are many wonderful details, the tattered battle flag, the oven in the forge, Elrond's conversation with Maedhros about Fingon that reflects the epic behind the simplicity of their Yule celebration.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. You are such an enabler. I am glad you liked it. I appreciate greatly all of your help and encouragement.

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2013 - 02:35 am
Title: While These Visions Did Appear

I love the sky in this picture. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for looking and letting me know.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2013 - 03:02 am
Title: While These Visions Did Appear

I really like this one!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Himring!

Reviewer: Dawn Felagund Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2013 - 06:23 am
Title: While These Visions Did Appear

I love this one! I love the colors. This reminds me that we so need to get the art gallery up and running! D^:



Author's Response:

Thank you, Dawn!

Does everything remind you of something you want to DO! I have a lot of nerve teasing you. Since I start a new project every couple of days.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2012 - 10:29 pm
Title: Of Night and Light and The Half-light

Her story was really sad...

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2012 - 07:41 pm
Title: Of Night and Light and The Half-light

Beautiful! =)

Author's Response:

Hey! Thank you so much. I've had fun with these.

Reviewer: pandemonium_213 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2012 - 12:08 pm
Title: Of Night and Light and The Half-light

You've been on a roll with these!  Great concept and a practical way to keep abreast of the insanity that is B2MeM!



Author's Response:

Thanks!

I've pretty much decided that I want to go to the Galapagos Islands next March, probably not good enough. Somewhere without internet would be better. Isn't this supposed to be fun?

I feel like I do after one of Laura's grand birthday parties--how about just the four of us go out for dinner somehere near our house next year?

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2012 - 10:58 am
Title: Of Night and Light and The Half-light

Wow, I love this dark blue hue of the picture, as well as the shiny stars. Beautiful!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I had fun making that one.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2012 - 02:38 am
Title: Of Night and Light and The Half-light

I love that you've put these up in a collection, Oshun. The pictures are gorgeous, and Finrod and this last one crack me up!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Sian. It is fun putting them here. That way I won't lose them. So glad you are enjoying them.

No results found.




You must login (register) to review.