TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Reviews For A Nerdanel Series

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: August 21, 2017 - 11:17 pm
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I like the relationship between Caranthir and Nerdanel here, as well as the central romance.



Author's Response:

Thanks!!!

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2017 - 05:01 pm
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

I can't help but laugh! Sorry!  I find making dinner torture if I don't get it made early.  By the time 7 p.m. comes I am tired and too grumpy to cook!  It's not fun!

Yes, I am/was Digdigil and Let The Songbird Sing was my story.  Sheesh.  That's old!  I can't quite remember the name of the Caranthir/Haleth fic - it was something like Whispers in the Stream.  If I can find it I'll fix it up and maybe post it here on the SWG (unless it's too terrible).

Caranthir has grown on me over the years.  I quite love him now, so it was lovely to read these stories of yours.



Author's Response:

Trust me it won't be terrible. Let the Songbird Sing wasn't and you wrote that before I started writing fanfiction.

A big miracle happened in our house! Laura had to go to the bank after work and the supermarket we use is across the street, so she stopped and bought something she felt like cooking and made dinner tonight.

I think you should post your Caranthir/Haleth fic.

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2017 - 11:38 am
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I just want to say that I also loved this story's predecessor, The Manly-Hearted Woman.  I remember having trouble leaving a review.  I kept trying and trying, nothing seemed to be happening, so I ended up entering my review 5 times!  I deleted all but one because I was red-faced with embarrassment, but I'm not sure you ever saw it.  I just re-read it and it is not as bad as I thought, but that was a very difficult day for me!  I could hardly put one foot before the other.  I'm surprised I could write anything.  But I didn't want you to miss it because it was heartfelt and I wanted you to know how much I liked the story.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much again. I will go look for The Manly-hearted woman review. And see if I did miss it or got interrupted and forgot to respond!

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2017 - 11:33 am
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I've just finished reading this wonderful story.  I thought the characterizations were brilliant as well as the setting - a story within a diary if you will - and I loved that you wrote an epilogue and author's notes!

"But I have written her as a warm and romantic sort. Many, looking back at long, eventful, and difficult lives, realize that love relationships often need to end. Knowing that does not kill the romance for all of us. Some of us, like me, turn to fantasy to find comfort in the age-old story of star-crossed lovers. Perhaps, like the author said above, this impulse is held in place by inertia."

This!  I remember thinking as a much younger woman that the daydreaming and anticipation of finding a beautiful, romantic lover was actually better than the reality of the lover one would eventually find.  I can see why teenagers lust over the latest Justin Bieber.  And in later years they will probably look back and find their memories of Bieber-love to be sweeter than their memories of their real boyfriends/husbands/whatevers.

Even a one-night stand in reality might hold sweeter memories than a long-term relationship that ended ugly.

I commend you for writing about this because it's the reality of today set in a highly romantic era thousands and thousands of years ago.  And *sigh* what woman wouldn't want a Caranthir in her life even if she's a well-equipped modern warrior with a busy enough life of her own?

The key to this I believe, is strength.  May we all acquire it.

 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!

"and I loved that you wrote an epilogue and author's notes!"

I loved that! A lot of people don't want epilogues or author's notes. Some are very loudly critical of them and others just skip 'em. I sometimes feel like they are "explaining a joke'--as my dad always said, if it's funny, you don't have to explain it.

Anyway, thank you for making it through the whole thing! And saying such lovely things about it. I'm having trouble letting it go. I may revisit these two sometime. After I started to write it, I wished I was writing a novella or a novel, but not sure I could have and anyway, I had a commitment and a deadline to meet!

Thank you again.

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2017 - 10:42 am
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I've only read the first 3 chapters because I got interrupted!  But I thought I would leave some comments here before I continue otherwise I'll end up writing a book in this comment box (and how many words until I reach the limit?).

 

FIRST!  I LOVE Ignoblebard!  I love his stories.  Nobody can touch his ability to write humour!  But his writing is also always impeccable and he seems like such a lovely, caring person.  And so accommodating.  I just felt I had to throw him a bone.

 

On to your story!  

I think it's brilliant. And not only because of your characterizations and the way you make your characters come alive on the page, and your descriptions and the way you set the scene so I as reader can envisage exactly what everything looks like, and so that it feels like it's happening in real life, but the fact that structured this story around Caranthir's reading of Haleth's diary!  So that in my mind while I'm reading I am wondering what Caranthir is thinking while reading her words.

I also commend you for your ability to write about military...stuff.  If I have to write anything technical about a sword or even a horse...I sweat about it for days but usually I try to avoid doing it.

I find the sexual tension between Caranthir and Haleth is accelerating faster than their weapons flying at each other during their sword practice.  I can't wait to read the next chapter! 

I also loved how you used the title so flawlessly and effortlessly in the middle of the story.

 

To be continued...



Author's Response:

Ignoble Bard first: he is awesome. (He uses a carrot to keep me writing--so appreciative and encouraging). He teases me a little, but mostly he has figured out that need a lot of stroking to keep me writing. (I got tortured by my siblings when I was a kid for leaving my stories lying around (trauma/drama ensued!). I had a big brother who used to read my stories aloud to embarrass me in front of guests--I couldn't spell then either! He grew up to be a wonderful person, depsite all that.) Yes, Ignoble Bard is a meticulous reader and has a good sense of what is a graceful sentence and what is awkward as hell. If I mess things up, it is generally because I am stubborn and did not take his advice. He's been doing this for me steadily for over ten years.

I am so excited that you liked the action sequences. I am like you--I break out in hives at the idea of writing those. I skim battles in a lot of novels--fast-forward through them in movies! I can barely watch a short car chase on TV--I change the channel. I closed my eyes during a lot of PJ's Hobbit. So, not surprisingly, that military stuff was the hardest part for me. I am really happy that it worked for you.

Characters are my babies. I try to get inside of their heads and then work to put that on the page. But that is what I love doing. These two--Haleth and Caranthir--really stole my heart. So if I managed to convey even a small part of that I'm thrilled.

Warning: the love scenes are more lyrical than graphic, but I hope still hot!

I'm looking forward to you reading more and seeing if you still like the story!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the wonderful comment.

 

Reviewer: Hazel Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2017 - 10:36 pm
Title: Five Times Nerdanel Said 'Yes'

This is a terrific look at these three couples and their relationships. Each has a distinct personality that shines through, and their interactions ring so true. I like how this is a genuinely pleasant story, but you can see the fault lines - not just between the brothers but also, heart-breakingly, between Nerdanel and her children.

I particularly like your interpretation of Nerdanel and Feanor as parents. Nerdanel is usually considered the better parent - which is reasonable, considering the way things ended - and it's interesting to see another view of things. Your portrayal felt very real; I could see why all of Nerdanel's children chose to follow their father. At the same time, I did wonder if Nerdanel was being entirely fair to herself. Surely she was a good mother?

Oddly enough, your portrayal reminded me of the naming dispute in The Shibboleth. I actually have sympathy for Feanor in that quarrel. As a reader, I love that the twins share their mother-name, but objectively, I think that Feanor showed better parenting sense. When raising identical twins, especially in a society where twins are so rare, it's wise to insist on their individuality.

I loved Nerdanel's thoughts about daughters. Of course she would want one. If Anaire and Earwen are already trying, I suppose they would get their daughters and then Nerdanel, deciding girls really were possible, would try again and get ... twin boys. I don't know if Feanor would be disappointed at not having a girl, but at least he could be smug about having two the next time he ran into Fingolfin.

You paint a vivid picture, and it's all so real and thoughtful. I really enjoyed it.



Author's Response:

This is such a wonderful comment that I don't know where to begin responding. First, thank you. I write to be read. You read this story and it captured your imagination and that is the most incredible form of feedback I can receive.

Random things for starters--I agree with you on naming twins. They need individual identities. I lived next door to a family when I was growing up who had identical twin boys. They were named Lee and Dee (is Dee even a name?). I can't remember anything that distinguished them for me. They were both loud and ill-mannered--I think I would have been too in their circumstances.

I think that Nerdanel would have loved a girl. She was not a girlie-girl herself, but it must have been at least tiring to have lived in that high testosterone household. I'm not sure if Feanor was desperate for a daughter (I am sure if he had had one it would have been intense about her!) or just wanted a large number of kids. We can guess that Finwe spoiled him from the texts, but still he must have been a lonely child. He sought to fill his own home with the sense of family all around. He set himself apart from Indis and her kids, but the premises of this story is that he could not help but like them, but to embrace them more wholeheartedly would have felt like betrayal to him. He couldn't hate his father (all he had), but he could resent Indis like a champion.

I see Feanor as a father who was crazy about his kids, but also probably had incredibly high expectations. Nerdanel probably did find juggling her work and all those pregnancies and early-childhood years a challenge and Feanor's participation was probably intense but sporadic. Hence the feeling on Nerdanel's part that she never quite was able to do what she believed was expected of her to be a fantastic mother.

I think for the boys themselves, disappointing their mother would have made them very sad, but standing up to Feanor would have been like holding oneself upright in the path of a tornado. The only one who stood up to him face-to-face was Maedhros, who "alone stood aside" at Losgar.

Thanks for all the positive renforcement. I do have more of this story and do intend to finish it. I have a few thousand words on my harddrive that I would like to finish and start posting. Three more chapters will do it, I think. But the next is not quite finished, the one after that hasn't been written, and the conclusion is totally complete. One of these fine days, I will post the chapters.

Thank you so much for the incredibly lovely comment.

Reviewer: Lotrfan Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2017 - 02:40 pm
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

Really love the detail of how his men tease him because, as Haleth says, they like him and respect him. It is so brutally obvious here how not quite enough and perhaps even inferior to his brothers he felt. 

As difficult and tragic as their time was in Beleriand I think for  Carantheir it was a place where he could distinguish himself from his brothers and be who he wanted to be--letting his natural leadership, warfare and negotiation skills shine when he didn't constantly have to do so in the shadow of his brothers. In many ways he flourished here, perhaps more than we would have in Tirion.

his inexperience is endearing and generous.

 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much! I think in Valinor he might felt like everyone but him had a niche. And placed where he was in Thargelion he found a purpose--his area produced a great deal of profit and his lack of people skills would not have mattered that much to the insular First Age Dwarves. His role become one of extreme importance--bankrolling the Maedhros' Northern Alliance. Can you even imagine Celegorm as a bookkeeper!

I'm thrilled at your interpretation of the story which aligns with so many of the points I hoped to make.

In real life as well as fiction, I love seeing socially awkward people find a comfort-spot as they mature where they can function withhold making themselves miserable. I think he had to have found that amonst his own "people."

Reviewer: Lotrfan Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2017 - 02:25 pm
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

Very creative way to bring the song lyrics in!

nice underlying tension in their attraction to each other--I am sure he was very aware of their legs brushing!

 

i love this side of him--his lovely voice, but in the shadow of maglor's --nothing special in his opinion. 

Family heirloom for a song--nice one!!

but no heir to inherit it--heartbreaking because it was true for all of them except Curufin, whose son was from before it all went to hell.

 



Author's Response:

You are such a great reader--a writer's dream come true.

I love your outline of points I made that I had really, really hoped some readers might pick up and like some of those!

Thanks again!!

Reviewer: Lotrfan Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2017 - 12:32 pm
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I really love this! I love your description of the arrival of the Elven army--single-minded, lethal, fierce and implacable but stunning and beautiful at the same time. And then!! Their silence after was so moving. Caring for the dead and wounded. The image of the Elf cradling the wounded was lovely and poignant.

Ok he's only been in the story briefly so far but I love this Caranthir of yours. I like him in general but I really like this side of him when he's on his own, without his brothers. When in a way he can be himself, truly himself, without the preconceptions that come with so many of his other interactions. 

And Haleth made me laugh--finding him attractive! 



Author's Response:

Oh, thanks so much for such a lovely encouraging review. I did enjoy these characters and building a story around them. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!!

Reviewer: Hrymfaxe Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2017 - 06:31 am
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I loved this! Thank you for following up on the hint of the dairy. :) This was both sad, cute and funny and I thouroughly enjoyed reading it. 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I often am walking around with a half formed story in my head and then a challenge or fic swap comes up and I hang on that. But Haleth could not have been further from my head when I tackled the first one.

I always read Haleth stories though--especially Haleth/Carnistir stories! I'm incorrigible. Those feels personal to me. That is why there should never be shipping wars in fanfic. People often like a couple in canon because it resonnates in their real life.

Sorry--off on a tangent! I am so thrilled you enjoyed the story!

Reviewer: Lyra Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2017 - 01:51 am
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I love how... uncomplicated, for lack of a better word, you made their "courtship". No awkward pussyfooting, no misunderstandings, they've both got a crush on each other and determine quickly (enough) that the other loves them back. Not that there's anything wrong with a nice slow burn, but it was nonetheless satisfying to have things progressing so swiftly for a change, even if the happiness can't last.

I thoroughly liked your less gloomy, more gracious Caranthir, too! Your descriptions of the Noldor in general. And the shared jokes. And the warrior practice. As usual, you have fleshed out your story with so many wonderful details that the characters and their world really come alive while reading. I enjoyed it very much!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I am so glad you like the way I plotted it. I love the slow-burn too, or a certain amount of unresolved sexual tension. But I can't write it! When I try it doesn't ring true for me.

Two things take precedence for me when doing a Silmarillion story: canon and characterization. I guess I'm working within the parameters of an already set plot.I didn't have time within canon for the attraction/obstacles/courtship/resolution. And anyway the resolution here is that there is none.

So glad you liked Caranthir. Haleth is easy, although I did work hard to make her my own.

Oh, wow! I am so excited that the world and characters felt alive to you. I had a lot of fun with the story. (Some problems with geography, which I more or less resolved to my satisfaction! That was a nightmare when it was about half done.)

Thank you so much for such a lovely comment. It will encourage me to write more! I need both support (readers!) and the whip (deadlines) to write fiction. Only occasionally does an idea strike like a bolt of lightning

Reviewer: Dawn Felagund Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2017 - 10:34 pm
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I had all intentions of finishing in two-chapter segments but, once I started again, had to just bowl through to the ending. I loved it--all of it: the characterizations that I mentioned earlier, the bright point of romance amid the darkness of the First Age (something that I love about your stories and think I crave since mine are so often dark), the tenderness and gentle humor in their relationship, the bittersweet ending where--millennia after her death--he finally learns that she loved him.

(Which itself is illustrative of the insecurity that Haleth picks up on: his inability to understand why his followers show such affection for him, seeing it as mockery.)

> would have liked to read the story of Haleth which celebrates that she did not need a man to complete her life.

Oh bother, I hope you don't get criticism to this effect! For one, she didn't need him to COMPLETE her life (as she did not COMPLETE his!), and I think that's abundantly clear. And as you pointed out in the Haldad bio, Haleth is no Eowyn, whose courage leads her to a man and the decision that she doesn't need that warrior spirit--the core of her identity!--any more. You don't even give us a heartwrenching parting scene but something that ends, almost organically, as both Haleth and Caranthir serve their people.

Also, on that note, I really liked the implication that she was experienced and he was not. (Although I was mortified on his behalf that his mother read about his lovemaking prowess! :D)

And--last thing!--I adored how you worked in the lyrics and title to the song (and the name of the challenge! ;). It's funny because I've heard "Unchained Melody" a thousand times if I've heard it once; it was one that I contributed to the song list, and it was one of the first ones I put on because it's possibly my favorite outright love song, and it had to be there. And I'd never noticed the lyrics before (even though I guarantee that I can sing them by heart), and they fit perfectly.

Anyway--once again, I loved it. It was a beautiful, fun story and got me through my work today--thank you! :)



Author's Response:

Oh, wow, I'm speechless! (Yeah, right! I can manage to eke out a couple of words more!)

I was so afraid of handing people a bowl of fluff. I am glad it does not come across that way to you. I loved the doing the epilogue because it gave me the a chance to make fun of own over-the-top style.

I do a lot of ruminating before I can actually write a sentence. I fell in love with Haleth during that period, "unable to write" period. I've always loved Caranthir. Actually, there are a lot of throwbacks to your really awful Baby Caranthir from AMC in this story and the last one before it. I've stopped thanking you every story that has Feanorians in it for how seminal AMC has been for me when I write them. I really should mention you more often in my notes. I guess I figure anyone who reads an old-school Silm writer like me has probably read AMC. So thanks for the inspiration.

Poor Nerdanel! In my case I've always been forced to know far more than I ever wanted to about my own kids sex lives! If I didn't accidentally catch them, or have to listen to them(!) ugh, then they told me more than I needed to hear or an ex-boyfriend/girlfriend of theirs did. A good mom just soldiers on!

Glad to pull you away from your work! That's high praise indeed. (You know I jump on your stories the instant you post--that night of the 11th, rushing to finish, was torture for me because you posted early and I got a notification! I almost blew off making the deadline to read yours.)

Reviewer: IgnobleBard Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2017 - 09:23 pm
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I don't know how you manage to make me love the Feanorians so much but you always do. Here is Caranthir, who should be a dark, gloomy character, but you make him so vital and alive in all his fiercely intelligent awkwardness that I can't help adoring him. It's so great to see him through Haleth's eyes and their romance is sweet and real without being cloying.

I especially enjoyed the description of the Elves sweeping into the battle and routing the orcs and Haleth's first look at Caranthir. I also like their easy banter and how she pulls him out of his shell. The description of her dressing up, trying to make herself attractive, and that being a foreign feeling for her is both amusing and touching.

Even your OC gets a funny moment for himself, you never leave your characters hanging or just toss them in there like spear carriers. They always come off as real people who I can imagine living their lives outside the story.

And your song choice for the challenge and execution of the theme is perfection.

Anyway, enough rambling. This is just a great challenge entry and one I enjoyed reading as well as betaing. I'm glad you decided to write for this one.

Author's Response:

Wow! What a terrific comment. I could not have finished this story on time without you. You were so generous at working within my timeframe and also my panic and insecurity. Not to mention the countless typos and other issues you tracked down.

I am so glad that I was able to engage you and draw you into the story. I know that is not your favorite Tolkien mileu to work in; I always figure if I can entrap you, I have a good chance of making others want to keep reading.

I love the things you chose to highlight here--things I would hope a reader would like! Awww! Thank you so much. Let's work on another story together sometime! (Ha! Like you can ever escape me!)

 

Reviewer: Dawn Felagund Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2017 - 01:52 pm
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

I'm only on Chapter Two--this was my reward for a stint of planning--but I love this so far! I'm swooning over your Caranthir. Keeping company all these years with Caranthir fangirls has finally done me in, I fear! He's beautiful and gracious as you write him.

But Haleth! Haleth is absolutely perfect as the scrappy, youthful, cocksure woman raised among a fiercely independent people. She rings very, very true to me.

This is going to be a great reward for me for getting my work done. ^_^



Author's Response:

So glad you loved Caranthir and Haleth too! I became incredibly fond of them myself. I hope you are not a spoiler-phobic but Nerdanel is in the end of the story too. Another character I love to write. (Although she feel oddly more self-assertive when Feanor is not in the story! OMG! Art reflects life.)

Thanks so much for using this as an excuse to take a break. I hope the find the need for more!

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2017 - 11:58 am
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

LOVING this to bits, from the first sentence to the last. I may come back with a more cohenerent comment later on, but I wanted to tell you that I adored this fic. Thank you so much!

Author's Response:

I am thrilled! Thank you so much. I did have a ball writing it, but worked very hard also. This is a wonderful comment. If you do want to share more, that would be great also.

Reviewer: Grundy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2017 - 10:41 am
Title: I've Hungered for Your Touch

Very nice! I like both that it keeps to canon - unfortunately, no happily ever after for this pair is just that - and that Caranthir gets to hear her side of it all these years later. I love how alive Haleth sounds, and how honest. (And I had a good giggle at the brandy incident. Well done working humor in as well!)



Author's Response:

Aww, thanks so much for the kind review. I almost bit off more than I could chew. It wanted to be a longer story. And the I started slow and ran out times, I was dying at the end. Still picking up typos!

I had a lot of fun with them! I still enjoy handing people an incendiary drink and watching them swallow too much. Ever try Schlivowitz?

Reviewer: Lyra Signed [Report This]
Date: August 03, 2017 - 06:15 am
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

I knew that you were writing a story about Haleth, so imagine my surprise when this story actually began with Nerdanel! You wove the story of Haleth - and Caranthir - into this setting very cleverly, though, and I am almost jealous because I didn't think of it myself! (On the other hand, this way I didn't have to write it and can simply lean back and read it - win-win, right? ;)) The idea of the museum is intriguing and the diary tantalising - I wish I could read it! I also love how you expanded on that snippet about Haleth's female bodyguards. That's a detail about the Haladin that continues to fascinate me.
Aside from the love story, which was as satisfying as a mortal/elf love story can be, I also loved your Nerdanel. You have made her immensely human and relatable before, and here you also show her eponymous wisdom in her dealings with her "slightly unhinged" son after all that time and all the things that happened, in her ability to figure out what the newly re-embodied need (different needs for different people at that! will wonders never cease! ;)), and how to tease out bits of information even from Caranthir. And you won't be surprised that I absolutely love her final words, I'm sure!

Author's Response:

What a lovely and generous review! (I adore writing Nerdanel and have a soft spot for Caranthir also.) Caranthir reminds me of a lot a of people I have know--loses his temper at the worst times (when Maedhros is trying to be diplomatic with his cousins, for example!) and, I admit that I am influenced by Dawn's Caranthir as well. But, in general, he made far few horrible judgment calls than most of his brothers. Hence, he "gets out" of reform school/purgatory first. So happy it entertained you!

The story I am rushing to finish now is, of all things(!), excerpts from the diary mentioned above.

Thanks so very much for your kinds remarks!

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2017 - 02:20 pm
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

There are so many things I love in this story.  First, its mood, or more accurately, the way it made me feel as a mother, was so hard to put into words.  It wasn't at all sad or melancholy in any way, but it brought tears to my eyes.  There was a certain regret - or like they were so happy to be together and having this conversation in this moment - but behind that were the regrets that they had not had much time together while they were both alive.  That's not an adequate description.  If I didn't feel so addle-brained I could do better but I hope you know what I mean.

So maybe I'll put the things I loved in point form to make it easier on myself:

- I love any stories set either in Mandos' Halls or right after when people are reuniting.

- the insight you have when mother and son are together is awesome and there are many feels:

"What mother worth her salt teases her notoriously awkward and self-conscious child?"

- the history you sketched of the Manly-hearted Women was wonderfully vivid.

- there was an intriguing contrast and comparison in attitudes and behaviour between the Haladin in Beleriand and the Noldor of the time when Feanor and Nerdanel were married and living in Valinor. They seem ages apart and I thought you illustrated that very well.

- wonderful descriptions of Caranthir:

"The most artless of her sons, the one who had preferred mathematics to letters and silence to speaking, told a compelling story."

- "So much for his turn as a king in Beleriand curing his lifelong social clumsiness."

- and that last line! "It is better to love unwisely than never to have loved." Wonderful truth, from the lips of a very wise woman.

 

Years ago I wrote a story about Caranthir and Haleth.  I can't even remember what it was called and it was probably horribly written and simplistic drivel but I should try to dig it out of my personal archives and re-read it.  I'm sure I'd get a good laugh.

This story of yours is just so beautiful and compelling.



Author's Response:

I think I did miss this review. It's a wonderful comment.

Years ago I wrote a story about Caranthir and Haleth.  I can't even remember what it was called and it was probably horribly written and simplistic drivel but I should try to dig it out of my personal archives and re-read it.  I'm sure I'd get a good laugh.

I sincerely doubt that it was either "horribly written" or "simplistic." If you find it, I would love to read it. I probably did read it in the olden days! I was very taken by Caranthir/Haleth stories in the 2000s which I would not doubt influenced the couple of stories I wrote and them recently.

Speaking of your older stories, are you the person who wrote under the name of Digdigil? another big influence on me was the Maglor/Daeron story I think it was called: "Let the Songbird Sing."

Sorry I am rushing and cannot properly thank you for the gorgeous comment. I have to make dinner and I would rather be tortured. It will be torture.

Reviewer: Hrymfaxe Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2017 - 11:33 am
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

Oh I do so like Caranthir and I enjoyed this story of his meeting with Haleth, and also how you handled the whole reaction to being reimbodied. Of course Finrod would want cuddles and people around him and Caranthir quite the opposite. 

 

Like Binks, I would really love to visit that museum, and I look forward to the excerpts from Haleth's diary. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and leaving a comment! I get a kick out of writing Carnathir and Nerdanel. Haleth was a first for me. It will be fun to try my hand at Haleth POV. This was a warm-up for getting inside of her head. I'm glad you agree with me about Finrod. I can't imagine him any other way.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 - 03:27 pm
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

Oh! I know this is about Haleth, but I love your Caranthir! Lovely story.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I really did enjoy writing him. I am so happy you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 - 11:40 am
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

And I really love these characters and had a very good time trying to write this story.

Your love for these characters shines throughout the story. Never doubt that :)

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 - 08:28 am
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

As someone who drank many bottles of wine with Mom, talking late into the night ;) I'm really digging this take on Nerdanel and Caranthir. And of course, the portrayal of Haleth as it emerges in the course of their conversation. Plus, I would very much like to visit such a museum :)

Great story!

Author's Response:

 

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely comment--I do enjoy dealing with Nerdanel and her family. And I really love these characters and had a very good time trying to write this story. I am very pleased that you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 - 01:32 am
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

I like the interaction between Nerdanel and Caranthir and your take on post-incarnation Caranthir!

Interesting observations about the Haladin.

I saw that you're planning to give us some extracts from Haleth's diary. That's something to look forward to!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading. I am so glad you enjoyed my interpretations. I want to start the diary abstracts soon. I cannot believe I thought to include them in the main body of the story. It was a bridge too far for me to cross, but I think it might work better as on its own. Hope I do not disappoint you.

Reviewer: StarSpray Signed [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2017 - 04:36 pm
Title: The Manly-hearted Woman

This is lovely! I really like the idea of artifacts from Middle-earth making their way to a Valinorean museum, and this was a really nice outsider POV of Haleth and her people. I don't usually have an opinion on Caranthir one way or the other, but I like yours! And your Nerdanel is a delight, as well.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading this! And thanks for making a comment. I am glad you liked the way it worked and the characters. As you can guess, I am fond of both Caranthir and his mother. I am going to write another part this coming month and let him take a look at the diary that Haleth left. That way we can get her perspective.

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: June 29, 2017 - 04:11 pm
Title: Companions on a Quest

You're welcome!  I could have written a better review!  I forgot to quote some lines that I particularly enjoyed:

“What did you tell him?” It was not a request but a demand. That’s my girl, Mahtan thought.

Fëanáro relaxed and laughed. “I told him that I was occupied at the moment. I didn’t tell him—didn’t think that he needed to know—that it has taken me the better part of week to convince you to find a small amount of time to spend with me, Lady Nerdanel.”

“Don't use that smarmy tone with me. I am no lady of your courtly circles of Tirion!”

“Not my circles! And you certainly are not one of those ladies. You are more like a queen!” Mahtan could easily imagine the boy’s color rising, as it often did when his voice took on that tone. Spirit of fire indeed. “You’re stubborn as a mule.” He wasn’t wrong about that. “If I have done something that has upset you, your gracious highness, I would appreciate it if you would tell me what it is.”  

These lines in particular tell us a lot about the characters of these three people.  Mahtan's pride in his daughter as well as his protectiveness, Feanaro's admiration and appreciation of Nerdanel despite her stubborn nature and Nerdanel's forthright bluster shows us how strong she is.

 

It's just so good!  I'm happy that I could help make you feel a little less wilted, etc.

 

I also admire your ability to write something as wonderful as this despite the heat and other stressors that you have had to deal with, because I just can't concentrate when things like that are happening in my life.



Author's Response:

Thanks, again, Jenni! I love the comments. I had so much fun to trying to imagine what it might have been like early on for all of them. Those were the good days (in my imagination at least).

No results found.




You must login (register) to review.