TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Hazel Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2017 - 10:36 pm
Title: Interlude: Sea Fever

This is a terrific look at these three couples and their relationships. Each has a distinct personality that shines through, and their interactions ring so true. I like how this is a genuinely pleasant story, but you can see the fault lines - not just between the brothers but also, heart-breakingly, between Nerdanel and her children.

I particularly like your interpretation of Nerdanel and Feanor as parents. Nerdanel is usually considered the better parent - which is reasonable, considering the way things ended - and it's interesting to see another view of things. Your portrayal felt very real; I could see why all of Nerdanel's children chose to follow their father. At the same time, I did wonder if Nerdanel was being entirely fair to herself. Surely she was a good mother?

Oddly enough, your portrayal reminded me of the naming dispute in The Shibboleth. I actually have sympathy for Feanor in that quarrel. As a reader, I love that the twins share their mother-name, but objectively, I think that Feanor showed better parenting sense. When raising identical twins, especially in a society where twins are so rare, it's wise to insist on their individuality.

I loved Nerdanel's thoughts about daughters. Of course she would want one. If Anaire and Earwen are already trying, I suppose they would get their daughters and then Nerdanel, deciding girls really were possible, would try again and get ... twin boys. I don't know if Feanor would be disappointed at not having a girl, but at least he could be smug about having two the next time he ran into Fingolfin.

You paint a vivid picture, and it's all so real and thoughtful. I really enjoyed it.



Author's Response:

This is such a wonderful comment that I don't know where to begin responding. First, thank you. I write to be read. You read this story and it captured your imagination and that is the most incredible form of feedback I can receive.

Random things for starters--I agree with you on naming twins. They need individual identities. I lived next door to a family when I was growing up who had identical twin boys. They were named Lee and Dee (is Dee even a name?). I can't remember anything that distinguished them for me. They were both loud and ill-mannered--I think I would have been too in their circumstances.

I think that Nerdanel would have loved a girl. She was not a girlie-girl herself, but it must have been at least tiring to have lived in that high testosterone household. I'm not sure if Feanor was desperate for a daughter (I am sure if he had had one it would have been intense about her!) or just wanted a large number of kids. We can guess that Finwe spoiled him from the texts, but still he must have been a lonely child. He sought to fill his own home with the sense of family all around. He set himself apart from Indis and her kids, but the premises of this story is that he could not help but like them, but to embrace them more wholeheartedly would have felt like betrayal to him. He couldn't hate his father (all he had), but he could resent Indis like a champion.

I see Feanor as a father who was crazy about his kids, but also probably had incredibly high expectations. Nerdanel probably did find juggling her work and all those pregnancies and early-childhood years a challenge and Feanor's participation was probably intense but sporadic. Hence the feeling on Nerdanel's part that she never quite was able to do what she believed was expected of her to be a fantastic mother.

I think for the boys themselves, disappointing their mother would have made them very sad, but standing up to Feanor would have been like holding oneself upright in the path of a tornado. The only one who stood up to him face-to-face was Maedhros, who "alone stood aside" at Losgar.

Thanks for all the positive renforcement. I do have more of this story and do intend to finish it. I have a few thousand words on my harddrive that I would like to finish and start posting. Three more chapters will do it, I think. But the next is not quite finished, the one after that hasn't been written, and the conclusion is totally complete. One of these fine days, I will post the chapters.

Thank you so much for the incredibly lovely comment.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2013 - 01:57 am
Title: Interlude: Sea Fever

So glad to see you finished this part and posted it.

What a lovely family scene!

But, oh, those might-have-beens!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing. I hppe to get another chapter up very soon. It is more than half-written. I have had a lot of fun with this one. There is more canon here for my world than is probably readily apparent.

Reviewer: Levade Signed [Report This]
Date: July 06, 2013 - 12:54 pm
Title: Little Father

These are all beautiful, showcasing each child so well, but for this one it feels like you really pulled out the stops.  It's gorgeous and fun, and passionate.  It shows the children so well, and of course their parents as well.

I read that one line and it struck me....  What if Curufin had been a girl?  How would that have changed things?  Oh, the thought of Feanor with one daughter, that is madness.  But a good one.  

Thank you for these, Oshun!  You make me love them more than I do now!



Author's Response:

I cannot help but compare them to my parents, who also had seven kids (five of them girls). They kept having one more hoping for another boy. I think Feanor just wanted lots and lots of kids, but he kept thinking he could tempt Nerdanel with the idea of perhaps a girl the next time.

Reviewer: Levade Signed [Report This]
Date: July 06, 2013 - 12:36 pm
Title: The Night They Begot The Fair Woodsman

Fëanáro communicated to Nerdanel with mind touch, 'He'll show the wankers that he has no need of their indulgence.' She smiled, squeezing Fëanáro's hand.  

LOL!  I love that.  It reminds me of my father when he resolutely attended too many of my piano receitals.  He was always a fan.  

These are all so lovely, Oshun!  I love the look at the families in happy times.  Feanor's cocky charm and Nerdanel's way of handling it are perfect.  I love the boys too, but have to say that Maglor is pretty darn cute!  Wonderful look into a family.




Author's Response:

I could write about little Feanorians forever! I am such a sap. And wanting to look inside of that marriage fascinates me also. Thank you so much for the comments. I am so happy you're enjoying it. Hope to finish the next and last chapter this month. It is the longest in the series also and about half done.

Reviewer: Tarion Anarore Signed [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2013 - 05:12 pm
Title: The Begetting of the Heir Apparent to the House of Fanro

Himring said it far better than I would have, but Atarinkë as a credit (as it must have been when the name was given!) rather than a recrimination is dead on here. 

And of course the possibility of Tyelkormo coming out a squirrel was hilarious! You can't really fault the logic, can you? 

Just one practically unrelated question -- what made you decide on "Veryatan" as a name? It jumped out at me because I'd thought of using it (though not for a Valinorean resident) a few days ago, so seeing it here caught my eye! Only wondering. It does not affect the sweetness of the story here. 

Anyway, lovely!



Author's Response:

I constructed it from Darth Fingon's name builder on Elffetish. Now I have forgotten what it even means. Probably nothing pleasant. But who knows. It's a mystery to me!

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2012 - 04:36 pm
Title: The Mightiest Singer of the Noldor

Charming!  Beautiful writing.  Lovely to think of Macalaure being conceived while the Music could be heard by both of his parents.  And then his voice!  You made him come alive as a baby for me. 



Author's Response: Thanks again, Jenni. I adore Maglor (like most readers). I love the idea of them, Nerdanel in particular, associating him with music even before his birth and was wanted to work in the "gold" part of his name.

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2012 - 04:30 pm
Title: The Begetting of the Heir Apparent to the House of Fanro

This is delightful.  I can't wait to read on.  The young Feanor and Nerdanel are as fresh as a spring breeze.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading this and reviewing. I am really excited that you think I capture their youth. I tried to make them sound a little older in each chapter in this story. Thanks!!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2012 - 05:15 pm
Title: Little Father

I really enjoyed this. There is the real feel of a very busy household--and then the glimpses of Nerdanel's work and the attitudes of the various family members to it and to her. I love Macalaure teasing Nerdanel, especially, and I feel sorry for Carnistir and his spelling mistake. There are hints of trouble, but they are still so supportive of each other at this stage!

And then of course there is Feanaro! How much in love with him Nerdanel still is! I have seen the name "Atarinke" interpreted as some kind of criticism of Curufin or his father--but here it is an expression of delight!



Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and writing a comment! So glad you enjoyed it. The hints of trouble will be much stronger in the next chapter. I always have thought that the marriage of Feanor and Nerdanel had to have been an epic love match. He had to have difficult from what we know about him and so she must have believed that he was truly worth the effort o have stayed with him for so many years and borne him so many children. Also, the fact that she did give birth to seven children and Tolkien still describes her as a great and recognized artist among such an accomplished people means Feanor must have been very supportive of her. Thanks again!

Reviewer: Aerlinn Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2011 - 08:05 am
Title: The Begetting of the Heir Apparent to the House of Fanro

There is something very cute about these. I mean that in a possitive way - they're definitely recognisable as the Sil characters, only so far utterly without their tragedy and melodrama. As it's called The "five times" and there four chapters, I wonder if this is a WIP or actually complete? In which case I entirely missed the "no" somehow. 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! It is not complete. Near the top of list of things to write! It should not take that long and I know exactly what I intend to do, but what a procrastinator I can be!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2010 - 04:00 am
Title: The Night They Begot The Fair Woodsman

I've enjoyed all the four chapters of this so far very much, but I especially like the description of Maglor's precocious showmanship here: the way he means everything he says quite sincerely, but nevertheless knows exactly how to use this to get across to his audience, as some of the best performers do.



Author's Response:

Missed responding to this! Thank you so much for reading and for commenting. Still have two little chapters to go.

Reviewer: Esteliel Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2010 - 07:52 am
Title: The Dark Finw

Oh, I enjoyed this so much, Oshun! You have a real gift for bringing characters to life, to take them from the bare sketches we find in the Silmarillion and to turn them into something more complete. I love your portrayal of Nerdanel here!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading, Esteliel. I am so happy that you liked it.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2010 - 12:39 pm
Title: The Night They Begot The Fair Woodsman

Awww... I've never read such a cute description of Celegorm. (g)

Author's Response:

Thanks again! I have a real soft spot for Celegorm.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2010 - 11:00 am
Title: The Begetting of the Heir Apparent to the House of Fanro

Fanor is so young and carefree here. Nice piece!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting! I was hoping he would sound young.




You must login (register) to review.