TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Reviews For As Time Unrolls

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 01:09 am
Title: Epilogue

My favorite line:  "I learned a thing or two from history." Very enjoyable story.



Author's Response: Yes, she's had a lot of time to observe things and come to her own conclusions...
Thank you very much!

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 01:07 am
Title: Sun VII

It's funny how Vaire would automatically jump to Feanor as the root cause if ever the world ends in fire.



Author's Response: Not necessarily - I assumed that she became aware of Feanor's release, and then automatically jumped to the conclusion that it was time for the world's end, and it would be an end in fire. (Of course, with Melkor as the counterpart, ice is still just as likely. In the Ainulindale, Eru specifically points out "the cunning work of frost" as Melkor's part...)

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 01:04 am
Title: Sun VI

My favorite line for this chapter is when Namo opines that he's not sure if they can blame all the discord on Melkor.  For the first time in this story, I kind of felt sorry for Namo.

From this line "even if we were still in office",  I take it that the Valar are no longer in office at this point?



Author's Response: Knowledge is a burden, so Námo's job can't be easy, either. Glad I managed to conjure up some sympathy for him - I don't particularly like what I see of him in Tolkien's works, but then, he can't help that (on several levels)...
They officially laid down their office just before the Downfall of Númenor, and while they may technically have taken it back up afterwards, with Valinor physically removed from the world, their influence is a lot less immediate. So I'm assuming that they're no longer "the Powers of the World", even though they continue to do their jobs as usual.

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 01:00 am
Title: Sun V

This is such a pleasing touch, hard to choose a favorite line here as this is an immensely wonderful chapter on so many levels.



Author's Response: Phew, so glad you like this chapter! It was a lot of fun to work out how to bring the Valar and Christianity together, so to say, but I know that it's a touchy subject for a lot of people so I was frightened of doing it wrong. So it's nice to hear that one other people finds it wonderful. :)

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 12:58 am
Title: Sun IV

Wow, a Maglor scene.  Wonder who the other raven-haired figure is playing the flute? 



Author's Response: Daeron. :) I keep vaccillating on whether or not the two would a) meet (they both end up walking the shores and making sad music, but there's a lot of shore in the world...), b) talk to each other and c) get along. But it's a fun idea to play with, so I've actually written quite a few pieces in which they live through events in history together. I'm assuming that their love of music, and the burden of immortality they both share, would eventually overcome any hard feelings left by the sack of Doriath...

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 12:56 am
Title: Sun II

Nienna appears quite naive here, which is just about how I picture her.  



Author's Response: Not necessarily naive, but definitely idealistic, yes! And, well, she really believes in second chances. :)

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 12:53 am
Title: Sun I

Short but silky chapter, enjoyed this Valaric exchange before the battle at Beleriand, the Valar should have pro-actively battled Melkor way before this time and I agree with Vaire's assessment of the true cause of delay.

 



Author's Response: Thank you very much!
Yes, Vaire is an astute observer... of course, she has to be!

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 12:50 am
Title: Darkness

Namo here is quite callous, I feel for Vaire.  I'm enjoying your portrayal of the Valar.



Author's Response: Námo doesn't mean to be, of course; he is as he is (judging practically ;)). But yeah, he isn't exactly my favourite Vala, either. Glad my portrayal of the Valar works for you! It's been quite a lot of fun to figure out how they tick. :)

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 12:49 am
Title: Trees

I found myself annoyed with Manwe in this chapter, I totally agree with the points raised by Vaireand Ulmo, whereas Manwe is quite the hands-off, imperious type. 

 



Author's Response: Manwe is so convinced that he's right that he's probably irritated when anyone questions his decisions. As you probably guessed, I like Vaire and Ulmo a lot more (so of course, I'm biased and may be unjust towards poor Manwe ;))...

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 12:45 am
Title: Spring

I enjoyed reading about your portrayal of Vaire very much.  While her job has it's front-seat perks, I'm not sure I would want it. 

 



Author's Response: Wow, so many lovely comments! It's going to be such fun to read and resond to them all. Thank you already!
No, I definitely wouldn't want it, either. I prefer to pick and choose the moments in history (and story) that I "record"... :)

Reviewer: Athrabeth Signed [Report This]
Date: January 26, 2015 - 12:49 am
Title: Epilogue

This is amazing! I really like Vaire's attitude, here. Especially how snarky she is at times. This exchange with Earendil had me laughing:

""I am not certain that I understand," says Vairë. "Námo does, supposedly, but he appears to think that I should just do my job and stop asking questions. Did I say that out loud?"
"You did, lady."
"Pretend that I didn't."
"I shall, lady.""

The Valar are such interesting characters to think about, because of how different they are from humans. This story does a wonderful job of keeping that "alien" feeling while also making the characters sympathetic. 

I don't usually go in for religious themes, but I thought the part with the nativity story was really clever...I mean, Eru trying to subvert his own rules? I thought it was an interesting notion!

Great story!! 



Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you like Vaire's attitude (I figured she'd become rather deadpan, with her job), and also that you find the Valar convincing in their humanoid alienness.
I can't claim credit for the notion of "subverting his own rules", which is a relatively common reading in (liberal?) theology, but I'm glad you think I pulled it off well!
In conclusion, thank you for your lovely comment!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2014 - 02:09 am
Title: Sun VII

And so the world ends in fire?



Author's Response: And ice. We mustn't forget Melkor, after all!

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2014 - 01:31 am
Title: Sun VII

I like their guessing. This one made me giggle. :)



Author's Response: Oh, I'm glad! I really didn't want to have another gloomy chapter, but found it hard to deal with the idea of the End of the World in a light-hearted way... so it's good to hear that it worked for you! :)

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2014 - 01:25 am
Title: Sun VI

So very sad, poignant chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you. Yes, I expect it would have been a hard time even if you were removed from the world's concerns at that point...

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2014 - 01:03 am
Title: Sun I

I really like your Vaire. :)



Author's Response: Thank you! She's really grown on me, too.

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2014 - 12:45 am
Title: Spring

"I find it strange that we are fourteen and Ambêlikôrûz is but one, and yet we yield."

 

I find it strange too. They often look like a bunch of useless folk, don't they?



Author's Response: Incompetent, at any rate. Or underqualified? Not suited to the job, anyway... one does wonder about a lot of their decisions.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2012 - 05:21 pm
Title: Sun V

"As I understand it, I'm just to be a messenger star," Eärendil says. "I've been doing that for years."

Good for Eärendil!



Author's Response: Isn't it just? ^^

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2012 - 03:54 pm
Title: Sun II

I adore this segment!

Some great lines. My favorite probably is:

"The same as ever. The song will run its course. People will live and die. There will be deeds of amazing valour and of baffling idiocy. I will always have something to weave into history, and you will always have something to cry over."

Author's Response: I'm quite fond of that line, too :)

Thank you!

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: May 03, 2012 - 01:25 am
Title: Sun IV

Beautifully written!



Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2012 - 04:16 pm
Title: Sun IV

It was Vaire's idea to team up Maglor and Daeron? Has she given her threads a little tweak?

I really enjoyed this one!

 



Author's Response: It seems so!

To be honest, though, I just had no idea what to do about the Fourth Age for this story, since I haven't got a clue as to what may have happened there. So when this idea for a filler came along, I cheerfully grabbed it ;)

Reviewer: Angelica Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2010 - 09:21 am
Title: Spring

What a satisfying Valar-bashing collection! It makes you feel like kicking Manwe and hitting Namo on his pompous head. Poor Vaire, she really got the toughest job of them all.



Author's Response: She and Nienna, I think. But then I also think it's giving her insights the others are lacking. As for Manwë and Námo, I keep having that urge even just reading the published material ^^




You must login (register) to review.