TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2011 - 08:12 am
Title: Thirst

Yep, that's what I think a vampire might have thought, felt, and imagined. Poor beast, though. Loved the descriptive language of these pieces. Excellent!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I am glad you liked this.  I think this might be the first vampire I've ever written - she was a fun departure!

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2011 - 07:48 am
Title: The Hideous Race

This is an awesome set of most impressive and vividly written drabbles! It must have been both a challenge and a kind of blessing to gain freedom from Melkor (for a time, though) and still with all those beasts lurking around.

Mastefully drabbled! *bows*



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  That combination of a challenge and a blessing was really what I wanted here - I'm so glad it came across.  And so glad you've enjoyed the set!  I do appreciate it and am definitely spurred to get on with it as soon as I can (you are an awesome cheerleader, really! <3).

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2011 - 06:58 am
Title: After the Manner

This was so sad and so... human. Beautifully done!



Author's Response:

I am so glad you found it so.  Once again, thank you for all your reviews! <3

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2011 - 06:38 am
Title: Those Unhappy Ones

I love the cadence of this one. And the stark realization that their fate changed so much, too. What a clever use of the prompt. Excellent!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I do like pulling back to this distant, impersonal perspective - it's a rather odd tone and you can't get away with too much of it, but it's nice to play.

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2011 - 06:16 am
Title: Patience

Chilling! The threat that's lurking in the dark seems palpable. Very well done!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm very glad it worked.  There's plenty of nasty things down there - and Thuringwethil still waiting for when they come up - so I think they're going to have to run...

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2011 - 06:00 am
Title: Beneath the Sickle's Swing

This was very evocative. Actually, I felt as if I was there (which probably isn't too good, I think, since it was such a dark, horrible place ;)). Very skillfully written, and the last line's contrast was very efffective. Well done!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I am about to flood your inbox with replies, I think, so sorry for that - but thanks for all your lovely reviews!  They have cheered me remarkably.  ;) 

I have been having fun playing with a distinct change of tone from the usual stuff with this set.  At some point I realised I'd been spending too much time lately writing Elves being nostalgic and wistful, so thought I'd try the same thing with a different group of characters.  So this descent into a dark, horrible place...

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2011 - 01:43 am
Title: The Hideous Race

Awesome! Special thank to Ignoble Bard, if he spurred you on to write this. I still can't quite believe you got this out of a Hairdressing challenge!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  To be honest, this sort of non-Tolkien-specific challenge is quite straightforward - but I skipped the one before it, which was a 'dangerous beasts' challenge: you'd think it might be easier, but working in dragons and wargs before they're meant to have been bred was more of a challenge than I was up for just then...

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2011 - 04:22 pm
Title: Thirst

I had really not expected ever to be made to feel sorry for Thuringwethil... Poor little megalomaniac bloodthirsty bat!



Author's Response:

Heh, others have said that... I've really had fun playing with Thuringwethil here!  It's been a nice (if a shade grisly) change from my usual Elves.  Thank you for reading.  :)




You must login (register) to comment.