TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Aiwen Signed [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2016 - 11:27 am
Title: B2MEM '11 - March 5th - Introspection

I have to feel sorry for Nerdanel here. I'd have a lot of trouble living without solitude.



Author's Response: I sympathise as well! I hate attending public events just for the sake of having been there, and although there are other events and social outings that I enjoy, I also need my time of peace and quiet. The enforced lack of isolation was meant to read somewhat dystopian and unpleasant, so I'm glad if that worked!

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2016 - 01:32 am
Title: Random - The Key

Very touching chapter, and how very appropriate I think to portray Mathan as the inventory of keys.



Author's Response: Very glad you like the idea! I felt that Mahtan needed to have made some ground-breaking inventions, and locks and keys seemed to be a good example. :)

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2016 - 12:46 pm
Title: B2MeM '16 - A bittersweet reunion

Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Reviewer: Ysilme Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2016 - 05:21 pm
Title: B2MeM '16 - Caranthir defends the Naugrim

A great triplet of drabbles!

Hah, well said, that first one! Curufin shouldn't indeed! (Love the "bushy litte faces" and Curufin's wariness of whatever lives in the beards. *g* )
And how cool to have them invent printing - placet! :D
The last one must be the most convincing argument to a son of Fëanor, though, I suppose.



Author's Response: That seems to be a really popular line! I really hadn't anticipated that, or I wouldn't have shied away from posting it (as a drabble in its own right, maybe) all these years ago!
I'm sure there's nothing living in those beards - the Dwarves are doubtlessly paying as much attention to keeping their beards nice and clean and soft as the Elves are obsessed with their hair! But Curufin doesn't (yet) know that...
Yes, I think the Dwarves invented printing, but Curufin might well improve on the principle by developing moveable type. (If he doesn't do it, the Númenoreans will; I haven't made up my mind yet...)

Ja, Angrist sticht natürlich alles aus. XD (The pun only works in German, but I couldn't resist...)

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: January 24, 2015 - 08:47 am
Title: Random - A Darker Shade of Black

You do make it work! Poor Gloom-weaver!

And that ending is very effective. Not such a great a discovery, revenge, as many have found out too late.

The names really work for early Ainur that way, they are so close to being exactly what they are named for.



Author's Response: Aww, thank you!

Nope, not a great thing at all, but sometimes it can look attractive... and Melkor has already figured out how it can serve his purposes, I'm sure.

Glad you think the names work. It felt really weird, but it just seemed to cumbersome to construct yet more questionable Valarin!

Reviewer: Huinare Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2015 - 10:08 pm
Title: Random - A Darker Shade of Black

This was a fascinating read. The way you presented their relationship was both metaphysically and emotionally plausible. 

I loved your presentation of Melkor as well. His final line makes me view the death of the Two Trees in a whole new light, no pun intended...



Author's Response: Wow, thank you! So glad you found it plausible. It was kind of heart to get a feel for how bodiless spirits would interact at all, let alone have sex...
Yes, that might be related somehow... ^^

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2015 - 03:10 pm
Title: Random - A Darker Shade of Black

Oh, very well done! The names work for me.



Author's Response: Glad to hear that! I figured it made more sense than reconstructed Valarin, even though it felt weird to use them in the story first. :)

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2015 - 03:05 pm
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 17 - Bested

I loved this ficlet. I love to think about familial relations among any or all of Finweans. This is an entertaining and moving expedition into that territory.



Author's Response: Aww, thank you. Yes, considering their various relationships is so much fun! I have to remind myself to give the non-Feanorians a chance as well, though. :)

Reviewer: Elleth Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2015 - 09:16 am
Title: Random - A Darker Shade of Black

I'm very glad that plot-spider bit you. Origin fic and femslash, and here I am feeling sorry for Ungoliant of all people... spirits... spiders. Y'know. Unlikely as the pairing may seem, you're making it work. 



Author's Response: Part of this has been tickling me since the Silmarillion re-read last year, when somebody suggested that Ungoliant might have been an Ainu of silence. For some reason, that resonated with me. The rest just kind of fell into place after my tongue-in-cheek Varda/Thuringwethil comment. Glad you like!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2014 - 03:18 pm
Title: B2MeM '13 - Friendship - Eulogy

This is a terrific interpretation of Aredhel's intent. I really like it. And I loved Celegorm's voice here and your definition of his feeling for Aredhel. Great work.



Author's Response: Thank you very much! Very glad you think Aredhel's intent is convincing. Celegorm surprised me a lot when I wrote this - so far, he'd been my least favourite Feanorian, so I hadn't expected to find such a sympathetic voice for him!

Reviewer: Elleth Signed [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2013 - 10:27 pm
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 19 - Inheritance

Oh, ouch. This is so wonderfully plausible and in-character (not that I expected anything else from you) that the end packs all the more punch.



Author's Response: Ouch indeed! I have to admit that I'm absurdly happy with this - thrilled you liked it, too!

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 19, 2013 - 12:57 am
Title: B2MeM '11 - March 12 - The Course of Nature

Why haven't I read this gorgeous little fic before? Love the complete teasing from Haleth, the huge egotistical pride of Caranthir and his terrible temper but that he restrains for HER. Goes beautifully with the Gifts story.



Author's Response: I don't know why you haven't, but I'm happy you discovered it now - and that you like it, of course. You may have noticed that I have a soft spot for Caranthir in general (and Caranthir and Haleth in particular). Glad to hear that you found their interaction delightful!
Yes, the Gifts story is sort of a bittersweet epilogue to this one...

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 18, 2013 - 02:09 pm
Title: B2MeM '10 - Different Terms

I am having a wonderful afternoon/ evening reading your stories- such richness. Thank you



Author's Response: Thank YOU for letting me know!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: August 11, 2013 - 11:54 am
Title: B2MeM '12 - N38/I27/B4 - Proud Craftsmen

"Naugrim" really is rather impolite, isn't it? (Not that "Sickly Ones" for Men is great in the PC stakes, either.)

Nice proto-history of Galadriel's positive future relations with Moria and Gimli--but on the other hand Galadriel's confidence in herself being able to handle other proud craftsmen may not be quite as justified?

And I like that little bit of inconsistency where she resolves not to pay attention to looks and can't resist admiring her own at the same time.



Author's Response: Yeah, the Eldar are quite a prejudiced bunch!

We all know how well Galadriel got along with the proud craftsman in her family (whether or not she was justified depends on one's personal attitude towards Fëanor, I suppose)! So you're definitely right that she may be overestimating herself. I'm sure she'll try her best, though. It's always easier when there's no family involved. ;)
I don't think it's actually inconsistent, though: She probably considers it polite towards others to look her best, even if she plans not to pay attention to the others' looks! But it was meant to make the reader go "... a hah!", so I'm glad it worked ^^

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: August 09, 2013 - 08:29 am
Title: B2MeM '12 - N38/I27/B4 - Proud Craftsmen

I resolve to judge them only by their craft and their behaviour

Well said. And reading that line, I just *have to* remember the meeting of Galadriel and Gimli, that will happen in the distant future. The great respect between them is the echo of her words - she acts like a truly wise person. I also like the conversation between Melian and Galadriel and Melian's words in her last paragraph. So well written.



Author's Response: It's a good start, anyway! She'll probably put her foot in her mouth on this early occasion... but she's willing to learn.
Glad that you liked Melian's observations - I have to admit I'm quite proud of that bit of insight ;)
Thank you for your kind words!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: April 07, 2013 - 01:24 pm
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 19 - Inheritance

That is certainly not an explanation I had thought of!



Author's Response: Me neither - until yesterday... ^^

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2013 - 01:18 am
Title: B2MeM '13 - Friendship - Forgiveness

And you claim this is fluffy! Not what I would regard as fluff, certainly. That final moment is so hard-won.

Yes, the mind has a way of playing through such scenarios, doesn't it? Especially when you have a lot of time to think.

 



Author's Response: It's fluffy for me. No actual arguments and no lengthy discussions! ;)

It definitely has. And they never play out the way one planned, no matter how many options one considered...

Reviewer: Agelast Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2013 - 11:05 am
Title: B2MeM '13 - Friendship - Forgiveness

Oh, this was heart-clutchingly good. 



Author's Response: *____* <-- Silly smiley attempting to copy my facial expression right now.
Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Independence1776 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2013 - 09:49 am
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 28 - Dark Fruit

This is fantastic. I love your characterizations, and that you wrote it from Morgoth's POV. It works so, so well.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Independence1776 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2013 - 09:32 am
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 18 - Debts Repaid

I like this!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Independence1776 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2013 - 09:28 am
Title: *B2MeM '13 - March 4-12 - The Lucky Ones

Chilling and absolutely believable.

Author's Response: Not sure about the believable, what with the divine interference and the endless life despite lack of oxygen, water and/or sustenance - but if you find it consistent, I'm glad :)

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2013 - 06:59 am
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 18 - Debts Repaid

I want more of this! But since I can't claim that anything is missing or there is a gap, it must be sheer greed...



Author's Response: I'm kind of unsatisfied myself - not with this ficlet as such, which maybe covers all that needs to be said at that point, but with my inner lack of interaction between Azaghâl and Maedhros. So who knows? There might be more at some point. Not while I have so many other stories to finish, though (I HOPE)! ;)

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2013 - 06:56 am
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 28 - Dark Fruit

An impressive encounter and an unnerving point of view!

I notice that you do not label this AU--although at first glance Maedhros's attitude here does not match the one he shows in the canonical conversation between Maedhros and Maglor--so are you offering it as a scenario that might underlie the canon outcome?

Dark fruit, certainly!

 



Author's Response: Yeah, I'm not actually sure whether this is AU or whether I'm just assuming that the chronicler messed up the timeline when FIRST reporting What The Fëanorians Did and only then What Happened To Melkor, at least some of which would surely have been going on parallelly. For that matter, I'm not sure whether Maedhros is entirely honest in this piece and it's Melkor who eventually informs his decision to steal the Silmarils after all, or whether Maedhros is just playing his cards close to his chest and not letting anyone know - even doomed Melkor - what he's really planning. The (canonical) outcome might be the dark fruit of Melkor's words here... or it might just be the dark fruit of the oath. I guess it's up to the reader whether s/he can incoporate this scenario into their idea of canon, or whether it's AU for them.
Anyway, thank you!

Reviewer: Duilwen Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2013 - 09:38 pm
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 28 - Dark Fruit

You have a fantastic handle on both Maedhros and Melkor - this was a delight to read. (I love everything about this 'Book of Short Tales' series of yours, but I think what I'm most impressed with is how effortlessly you can jump into the minds of so many differetn characters.) 



Author's Response: Wow, what a compliment! It definitely doesn't feel effortless while writing, but if it feels effortless to the reader, then I guess I've accomplished my mission ;)
Thank you so much -- you've made my week (at the least)!

Reviewer: lindahoyland Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2013 - 07:01 pm
Title: B2MeM '13 - March 28 - Dark Fruit

You portray Morgoth's evil brilliantly yet make me pity his suffering just a little.



Author's Response: Both of which is a good thing, I think :) Thank you!




You must login (register) to review.