TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Reviews For Many Journeys

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Zdenka Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2016 - 10:42 am
Title: White-Flowered Also

I loved this piece -- it's so beautiful and sad that it gave me the shivers. I love the combination of dire circumstances with a fragile thread of hope, represented by the daisies.



Author's Response:

Ooh, thank you, especially for such wonderful insight! Even Míriel needs that hope, I think, even if it comes in innocuous symbols like Nénumë's daisies here. 

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2016 - 09:08 am
Title: As a Cup Yielding

Sapphic stanzas indeed! You challenge me with these! But I am not a poet and they are difficult. Anyway, you did a lovely job. Not only is the language nice to read, but the mood is so very sexy. You inspire me to try to relax a little and try to write a few short things for this week! (Fell at a terrible time for me this year.)



Author's Response:

I'd hesitate for a very long time before I'd call myself a poet (even though I do write poetry sometimes; I usually keep it private for a reason), and I found these difficult, too, especially seeing how I am not used to working with a strict meter or form, usually. It's one of those things I want to practice, and then opt for free verse again after all - so this was a welcome challenge, if not an easy one! So I'm doubly glad you enjoyed this, and if it inspired you to take a crack at a bingo card or other, that would be most excellent indeed! :) I hope your time stops being terrible soon, but I'd love to see something from you regardless of when it comes! :)

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2016 - 08:53 am
Title: White-Flowered Also

So terrible and lovely. Nice work!



Author's Response:

What a good summary of this little moment! Thank you! ^^

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2016 - 08:50 am
Title: The Song (Forever)

I love it when you write prehistoric elves or even refer to that pre-history like in this one. Beautiful use of the prompts.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Oshun! Of course you know it's a part of canon that's near and dear to my heart, but I'm glad the prehistoric "vibe" came through. Without telling too much, I can't wait until I get to elaborate on the Amanyavari in Our Share of Night to Bear more fully! :D 

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2016 - 09:16 am
Title: The Song (Forever)

A beautiful scene and good to get at least a glimpse of Kalre again, in the meantime.

I'm glad that those two meet again--so long after--although it seems almost dreamlike!

 



Author's Response:

Thnnk you so much! This drabble was a pretty spontaneous decision (it was eant to be Míriel/Indis, originally) in terms of Kalrê claiming it for herself. It's not a dream, though - this is happening, if a long, long time down the line, probably set in the vicinity of the ending of Our Share of Night to Bear which happens in the same 'verse as The Beautiful Ones. (This also goes to show that I should really write up a continuity of stories and which stories belong where, and which are standalones. Projects, projects...) 

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2016 - 09:11 am
Title: White-Flowered Also

I love this, Elleth.

Seeing Nenume again and the encouragement she offers and that last line!



Author's Response:

And again, thank you! :D Nénumë is going to be a far more significant presence in Míriel's life than either of them initially expected, I think, and while I'm not entirely sure yet how the rest of it is going to shape up (something that needs to be written up to figure out), I have a feeling this isn't the last of her that we've seen. :) 

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2015 - 02:15 pm
Title: A Show of Mastery

I like this a lot, Elleth!

Poor litte Luthien, she seems to have been started on this awfully young, but she's certainly an achiever.

And the description how her mother's language feels to her is very vivid.



Author's Response:

She definitely is an achiever! Lúthien wouldn't be herself if she didn't try and struggle against adversity. It's one of the most striking characteristics of her to me (she falls in love with a mortal, defies her father, breaks out of captivity twice, faces Sauron, tracks down her runaway boyfriend, defies Morgoth and Mandos...) so it doesn't make sense to me to have her not try her utmost even at such a young age. And of course Melian (so I like to think, even if it didn't come up explicitly here) would be aware of something momentuous in her daughter's future, so making this power accessible to her makes good sense. :) 

Thank you so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: pandemonium_213 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2015 - 08:26 am
Title: A Show of Mastery

Really enjoyed this ficlet, Elleth!  Your prose, as always, is evocative, and I love how you've described Valarin and Lúthien's struggles to learn the language, e.g.,

First it was language - a tongue that hurt to listen to, the quick merciless slices of a bright sword glittering in starlight given shape and sound.

She had learned, by then, how to wrap her tongue around the sharp, intricate sounds of her mother's language and to speak them without cutting her lips bloody.


Oooooh, that last part!  All of this really resonates (heh...so to speak) with me (the Pandë!verse, too!).  You've written a neat treatment of the Language/Songs of Power.




Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing! I love the tidbit of Valarin being unpleasant to Elvish ears, and it was fun taking it a step further to see how a half-Elf-half-Maia might react to a language whose power she can access but not (yet) adequately control, and I'm so glad it resonates (heh) with you. And I'm always happy to hear the praise about my prose, of course. ;) Thank you so much, Pandë!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2015 - 05:44 pm
Title: Out With Lanterns

Oh, this is wonderful. It's sad and bittersweet and underneath it all is hopeful. They do have one another.

The title is from Emily Dickinson ... and I am out with lanterns, looking for myself.

I love the title it really, really works.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Oshun, that's very lovely of you to say! :) They do have each other, much like your Nerdanel and Indis do. 

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2014 - 03:26 pm
Title: Making a Home

An interesting alternative--a real new start rather than that choice between her father and Indis...



Author's Response:

Thank you! In my personal 'verse this happens at some point after Nerdanel's stays with Indis and Mahtan (and I really need to work out a proper timeline for my fics), so it negates neither, but you're very right in recognizing that she'd want a new start.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2014 - 03:22 pm
Title: Brethil in Winter

Nice to see her aging but still rebellious and confident!



Author's Response:

Thank you! At some point I think that became ingrained behaviour, but especially so when she grew older. Haleth strikes me as someone who would be very aware of possible constraints, so any version of hers where she'd be willing to admit weakness (real or perceived) would need a very convincing writer...

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 06, 2014 - 03:41 pm
Title: Not on Hope Alone

Clever Idril.

Of course, it's going to sound slightly less heroic if Ecthelion and his Balrog drown in a fishpond, so they had better go on calling it a fountain...



Author's Response:

Hahaha, I hadn't even considered it that way - of course a fountain would be more heroically sound... as, I suppose, would be the Lord of the House of the Fountain rather than the Lord of the House of the Fishpond. :P (*Idril voice: It will be both! There is no reason to mock dear Ecthelion!*) Either way, thank you! :D

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 06, 2014 - 03:36 pm
Title: Patience and Quiet

Aerin was actually planning it from the beginning and Brodda was part of the plot? That's an interesting idea!



Author's Response:

Possibly! I think she did understand the potential of going along with the Easterling rule - whether she had /planned/ to strike against him from the beginning I'm not sure, but I do think she remembered her words and took her chance when events turned that way.

Reviewer: pandemonium_213 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2014 - 10:18 am
Title: For Fear and Love of Her

Fantastic, Elleth!  I made my enthusiam for these known elsewhere, and I'm thrilled that you collected the ficlets into a cohesive whole, here now posted on a more *ahem* stable archive than the emphemeral T-place.

This is so darkly power and beautiful, and although you might call it an AU, I'd call it an AH...that is, an alternative history, as this flows into Tolkien's legendarium perfectly, i.e., it fits in the same universe.  I cannot help but compare Lúthien's magnificence and power you've shown here to the (now paler) shadow of Galadriel's temptation by the One Ring.

So many wonderful turns of phrase here, e.g., she needs no rock-studded crown to bow her neck, but this last...

And should they try besiege her - she rained sleep upon the greatest of the Ainur. An army is no hardship, especially not since there is one to give her wings.

Wow!  That is oe helluza realization for the Noldor.

All in all, you have the foundation for a fantastic story arc here with the dyad of Lúthien and her "chief lieutenant," Thuringwethil (a fabulous contrast to Melkor and Sauron).  I dearly hope you continue this.

Finally, Dark Muse Approved™?  Nope.  Istyanis Approved™?  Yes!



Author's Response:

I like the idea of considering this particular 'verse alternative history than an alternative universe -- and the idea that it fits into Tolkien's legendarium this easily is a huge compliment, so thank you for that! And you're right - Galadriel pales by comparison, doesn't she? One phrase that I had running through my mind while writing this was "I didn't fall to temptation - I rose to it", from Diane Lockward's Eve Argues Against Perfection, and that may be a main difference between these two ladies, quite apart from Lúthien being more powerful due to her heritage.

I don't know if it will turn into a story arc, but the 'verse is too intriguing to abandon, so there will in all likelihood be more, DM's disapproval notwithstanding. ;) Thank you so much for such a glowing review!

Reviewer: Huinare Signed [Report This]
Date: January 03, 2014 - 10:13 pm
Title: For Fear and Love of Her

Ooh, it's here!

I saw the second two on Tumblr, and have already mentioned how I love the concept of the "weight of light." Also:
- Thuringwethil literally putting her form back on like a garment.
- The diplomatic yet menacing way they deal with the Noldor. 



Author's Response:

It's here, and thank you so much for commenting again! :) I'm glad you've found more to enjoy - in particular Lúthien dealing with the Noldor was very fun to write, but then I have a thing for women rulers anyway.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 02:39 pm
Title: The Washerman's Fate (*)

Oh, dear, how sad...

Author's Response:

First of all, thank you so, so, so much for leaving so many reviews. I didn't quite trust my eyes when I checked my emails and found all the notifs, but it made my day nonetheless! :D I loved seeing all your individual responses to the ficlets, and am thrilled you enjoyed them so much! Many of them are quite old by now, and it's great to know that they passed the test of time. I noticed that you uploaded several stories of your own, and I'll be certain to read and reciprocate, but for now - thank you so much, again! :D

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 02:31 pm
Title: Hair and Ink

*laughing* Very funny!

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 02:13 pm
Title: Cut (*)

I like how you write Fingon here.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 01:56 pm
Title: Oath Fulfilled

Very sad.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 01:20 pm
Title: Serendipity

Well, I love Caranthir, and this reminds me of how it feels when your parents argue.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 01:18 pm
Title: Confabulation

This is chilling...

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 01:17 pm
Title: Bibelot

This was sweet too!

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 01:16 pm
Title: Betimes

Lovely! I am liking all of them, but commenting on the ones I like more.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2013 - 12:58 pm
Title: Ratiocination

Very sweet! :)

Reviewer: Independence1776 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2013 - 01:12 pm
Title: Recalled to Life

And would Míriel not rather amend what little Marring she could, rather than further it?

This! Yes, why not this?

The beauty of a union may shine yet brighter with us three."

Eeee!

Thank you so much for reposting them. They brought a huge smile to my face!



Author's Response:

There definitely are things that could have been solved so much better by a lot of the people involved, but then that's what fic is for, and I'm glad these still made you happy. :)




You must login (register) to review.