TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Comments For Trinkets

You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: Lordnelson100 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2018 - 08:50 am
Title: Chapter 40

Ah, Elrond as Maglor's ward and Elwing's son has imbibed a dread of oaths! Nice connection with Maglor's scarred palm, and the later need of Aragorn for the Oathbreakers.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2017 - 10:12 am
Title: Genesis

Oh, why not? It might have been like this :) Wonderful! Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you! There was nothing in the little bit of research I was able to do in the minimal timeframe outright contradicting what I wrote, so "might have been" is about the best anyone could do. :)

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2017 - 01:42 am
Title: Lament

I like that--the Noldolante as a lament that contains multitudes. I see it like that, too.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: June 29, 2017 - 02:22 pm
Title: Arda Marred

So much to mourn, yes.



Author's Response: Indeed.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: June 29, 2017 - 02:20 pm
Title: Desolation

Apocalyptic indeed--a telling summary of the situation.



Author's Response: Yep. Sometimes the destruction hits me harder than others because it's such a large scale: it's both easy and hard to imagine.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: June 29, 2017 - 02:18 pm
Title: Tears Unnumbered

A very Silm-ish prompt and you've handled this dialogue well!

Had you written about this decision before?



Author's Response: Thank you!

I honestly do not remember. Touched on it, maybe? But I have a bad memory for my own stuff, especially if it's shorter.

Reviewer: Lotrfan Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2016 - 08:43 am
Title: Baking

What a lovely happy moment!



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: The Wavesinger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2016 - 10:05 pm
Title: Comfort

Oh my gosh, this is very adorable, especially Nerdanel drawing Indis ♥♥♥. (And Indis/Nerdanel! I love fics for my rarepair OTP!)



Author's Response: Thank you! (I don't normally write them-- my favorite femslash pairing is Míriel/Indis-- but this bunny bit.)

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2016 - 01:17 am
Title: Insomniac Maglor in Himring

Thank you very much again for writing this for me!

I really like this glimpse of him here!



Author's Response:

You're welcome again! :D

Reviewer: The Wavesinger Signed [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2015 - 11:14 pm
Title: Failure

A beautifully horrifying story. The last line sent chills down my spine and twisted my mind (i.e., I stared at the screen for five minutes wondering whether this was real or a dream within a dream or...).



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad the last line had that much of an impact; I was hoping for that. (It's definitely real.)

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2015 - 04:48 am
Title: Failure

Oh my! What a final twist, in that last sentence!



Author's Response: *evil grin* I'm glad the twist worked for you.

Reviewer: Amy Fortuna Signed [Report This]
Date: February 15, 2015 - 06:27 am
Title: Baking

Too adorable for words!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: January 16, 2015 - 05:06 pm
Title: Maglor and Elrond ficlet

Nice scene--an appealing little slice of life!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2014 - 03:40 am
Title: Trick or Treat Ficlets

I like these, the last two especially.



Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Elleth Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2014 - 01:05 pm
Title: Sunrise

This is so lovely and atmospheric. Beautiful work, Indy!



Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2014 - 06:04 pm
Title: Sunrise

Oh, good for you to have finished something for today! It's simple and lovely. I have something started and not finished yet!



Author's Response: Thank you! I actually wrote it a couple of weeks ago. I was feeling incredibly guilty about not writing for IDF yet again and then a dawn landscape picture crossed my Tumblr dash. The story was in my head in seconds. Good luck finishing yours!

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2014 - 04:31 am
Title: Until the Change of the World

Very convincing!

I like the way you describe the two interacting and their practicality.

The onset of the weariness is very subtle, almost like the normal exhaustion of the voyage...



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like their characterizations. And that's exactly the effect I aimed for with the weariness, so I'm pleased to hear it worked for you.

Reviewer: Huinare Signed [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2014 - 07:10 pm
Title: Until the Change of the World

That is a chilling ending, especially with the title of the story. This is great, thank you for writing it for my wee challenge! And frankly this seems more likely to me than the "oh yeah they reached Valinor safely yadda yadda" scenario.



Author's Response: Thank you! I honestly wasn't sure if it would be too hopeful or light to "count." So I'm thrilled you like it. I actually like the "reached Valinor safely" scenario-- but I think it happened after they woke up from this sleep/stasis thing. That way, it doesn't interfere with Eärendil's voyage/specialness.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: April 26, 2014 - 11:14 am
Title: Belief

It works very well. I particularly like it as a reponse to the picture (which I had also liked when I saw it, but which didn't seem to work as a prompt for me).



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad it works as a response to the picture; I wasn't sure it would work for anyone else. (Pictures as prompts seem to work better as prompts for me than almost anything else; I don't know why.)

Reviewer: Elleth Signed [Report This]
Date: April 26, 2014 - 04:19 am
Title: Belief

Oooooh. I'm so glad I finally got around to reading this - I love the more natural approach to the Valar where they become manifest in nature and their chosen areas rather than in institutionalized worship so to speak - this is simply gorgeous, Indy!



Author's Response: Thank you! I honestly don't know where this came from-- I'm not fond of the "Vanyar are overly reverent of the Valar to the point of almost being worship" interpretation, but this… just works. (I'm not sure I'll use the concept again, but then, I don't write the Vanyar often, so who knows?)

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2013 - 01:59 am
Title: Not Just Rumors

I much prefer Nerdanel's sketching unicorns to Tenth Walkers riding them--but that's just a personal preference!



Author's Response:

That's my preference, too. It's the sheer vitriol directed at the latter when their authors are just having fun that bothers me. (Unicorns are one of those things that aren't really canon, but this line could be used to justify their presence. Twisting something like that is something I occasionally enjoy doing.)

Reviewer: Lyra Signed [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2013 - 08:06 am
Title: Not Just Rumors

Heee! I'm not a fan of unicorns, but I still thought this was quite a neat little encounter. And sitting down to sketch them for a future project sounds just like what Nerdanel would do!
I love what you make out of these little throwaway lines. (Of course, the people who'll raise a fuss about "Mary Sues" on unicorns would probably object to mammoths or even zebras, too...)

Author's Response: Thanks! It's not an idea I take particularly seriously either, but the scene entered my head and wouldn't leave. (And that apart from the point I wanted to make.) What can you do? :P Thank you! It's the throwaway lines that are sometimes the most intriguing. Ooh, yes, you're right. I didn't even think about mundane animals they'd object to. (I'm now determined to put zebras in a post-Darkening pre-Eärendil Valinor fic I'd like to write next year.)

Reviewer: Lyra Signed [Report This]
Date: October 30, 2013 - 11:45 am
Title: On the Straight Road

You're right, I don't think I've ever seen this particular line handled in fanfic either. Of course, it's a sort of despressing thought, no matter how poetic the Akallabęth makes it sound. Ilarwa raises a lot of good points...

That said, I enjoyed this very much. So far, I've more or less read this line as part of the grim fate of Númenor, never giving any thought to what it means in practical application. Now I'll probably never be able to read it without goosebumps and a twinge in my stomach - thanks to your story!

Author's Response:

Glad to hear that! It's definitely depressing, but at the same time, I can sort-of see why the survivors would consider it a good thing. In the balance, though, I have to disagree with them.

It's the practical application that makes it hair-raising, so I'm right with you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: October 30, 2013 - 03:52 am
Title: On the Straight Road

That is so totally creepy! Great little story for Halloween. Shit! I could just see blundering into the straight way and getting offed. It could be worse. The valar could sue me. Good thing I am not doing any sailing these days, I have had a run of bad luck for the last few years.

That quotation is a perfect, perfect example of "if that is the Valar's favor, I pass!"



Author's Response:

Awesome! I was going for creepy! (I thought I ended up near "sad" so to hear otherwise thrilled me.) And guilty as charged for being a Halloween story.

"The Valar could sue me" made me laugh.

It absolutely is. One of those things where I can see Tolkien's probable viewpoint and rather disagree that it's a good thing.

Reviewer: Huinare Signed [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2013 - 08:01 pm
Title: On the Straight Road

That's an awesome passage to expand upon.  The Akallabêth has been in my mind today too, so I snapped this one up right away.

I guess Elves probably would end up finding their bodies, wouldn't they? And they would probably speculate and debate about it, as your OCs are doing. I love vignettes that explore obscure/overlooked points of the Legendarium, especially ones with darker themes.  This is great!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it. I can't really see the Valar getting their hands dirty, and the Maiar I don't think would have any reason to be on the shore. So it would have to be the Elves.

It is an interesting passage. I'm guessing that it's supposed to be something Bermuda Triangle-esque with no actual knowledge of what happened, but it also seems that Tolkien may have intentioned that it actually did happen. There's no way to know, of course, but it's one of those things that does have darker undertones under the "it's a reward!" surface-- and the darkness is the reason I wanted to write it. (And post it right before Halloween.)




You must login (register) to comment.