TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: Lordnelson100 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2017 - 04:42 pm
Title: Extra drabble: The Heavenly Arch

All this delicate detail in this series is wonderful. There is the happiness of knowing that there joint work lasts for a long long time, and inspires others, and the terrible sadness that is at the edge of all Celebrimbor stories.

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed the detail! Thank you!

Yes, their work will endure to be found and admired by Gandalf and the Fellowship, as a lasting memorial to friendship.

But of course there is also the loss of Eregion and Khazad-dum and the horror of Celebrimbor's fate, to offset all that.

Reviewer: StarSpray Signed [Report This]
Date: December 13, 2017 - 04:57 pm
Title: Extra drabble: The Heavenly Arch

This is a lovely drabble series, but I especially like this one--the idea that Elves, Dwarves, and Men all have different spectrums of color that they can see is really neat.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like the idea!

 

Reviewer: Lyra Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2017 - 10:31 am
Title: Physic and Metaphysics

Aww. This is both heartwarming and heartbreaking. I love the intense friendship of these two that shines through - even when they argue!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Lyra!

I so much wanted the intense friendship to shine through! (And I don't think it would be as strong if they didn't sometimes argue!)

Reviewer: Lyra Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2017 - 08:01 am
Title: Extra drabble: The Heavenly Arch

I love the idea that the Dwarves can see infrared! And I love Narvi's reaction to Celebrimbor's musings. Analysing and understanding things is all very well, but one shouldn't forget to simply admire their beauty...

Author's Response:

I'm glad you agree with Narvi here! You can still admire things together and be sharing their beauty, even if you're not seeing quite the same thing!

I tried to track down the infrared idea, afterwards. I thought I remembered encountering it in a specific fic. But all I found out there on the interwebz was a discussion by Dungeons and Dragons gamers who speculated that D & D dwarves had got their special vision ultimately from Tolkien, somehow...

 

 

Reviewer: Ellynn Signed [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2015 - 05:18 am
Title: Celebrimbor looks in Kheled-zaram

Oh, so nice!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Ellynn!

Reviewer: pandemonium_213 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2013 - 06:28 am
Title: Physic and Metaphysics

Very nice set of drabbles, Himring!  They hang together well, and in an economy of words, speak clearly to a strong friendship.  This last was poignant.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!

I'm glad that they work as a sequence--and especially that that last one works. The last one was the one I was most anxious about!

Reviewer: Meisiluosi Signed [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2013 - 04:36 pm
Title: The House of a Friend

You can say/evoke so much with so few words.

An ability I've always craved but never had...:-)

I love these...:-)



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm happy you find them evocative.

The drabble sequence is quite a new form for me, really (although some of my pieces have always been fairly short).

Reviewer: Tarion Anarore Signed [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2013 - 10:18 am
Title: Physic and Metaphysics

These are lovely. I love the references to the momentuousness of etching the Star of Fëanor on the Doors of Moria, the obsidian and the "Elvish flaw". 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm glad those work for you!

Reviewer: Independence1776 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2013 - 03:59 pm
Title: The House of a Friend

Ooh! I like this.

Author's Response:

Thank you and thank you for letting me know!

Reviewer: elfscribe Signed [Report This]
Date: August 11, 2013 - 03:10 pm
Title: The House of a Friend

I enjoyed being there at the moment of the making of the inscription on the Doors of Durin.  You've suggested much about the relationship of elf and dwarf, in few words.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Elfscribe!

Most of Celebrimbor's relationships were rather fraught, one way or the other, but I like to think that in Narvi he had a true friend.

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: August 10, 2013 - 09:37 am
Title: The House of a Friend

Aww! I love this. I’ve always loved the fact that the star of FŽanor was on that door. It was a big influence on the way I have imagined a lot of elements in my personal canon for my stories. It cuts directly across the viewpoint of those who like to imagine that Celebrimbor spent his life hating that he was a descendant of FŽanor or ashamed of his heritage. It also is a big neon sign for other readers who who have little to no interest in the backstory to The Lord of the Rings

Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Oshun!

I'm ashamed to say that it needed Zdenka to point out to me how significant the choice of Celebrimbor to include the Star on the Doors of Moria is. And there is also that lovely cadence to Gandalf saying: "And the Star of the House of Feanor"--he doesn't comment otherwise just then, but it makes me think of that other passage where he speaks of his longing to use the Palantir to perceive Feanor at work...




You must login (register) to comment.