TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2013 - 04:43 pm
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

I don't seem to have ever reviewed this piece, although I love it and I'm sure you know that!

I think those poor loyal standard bearers trying to catch up with Fingon and trying to unfurl the banners at the same time are such a neat touch. I feel for them!



Author's Response:

Awww! Thank you so much.

I got a huge kick out of that image myself, it would be something I love to see on film, the grandeur of the setting, the single-minded focus of handsome, unstoppable Fingon, and the unbearably awkward, frantic and comic machinations of those standard bearers trying to keep up with him. (It's probably tasteless and inappropriate to laugh at the scenes one writes--but Fingon makes me do that! I blame him.)

Reviewer: Ithilwen Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2009 - 09:35 am
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

So Fingon is clever as well as valiant!  This is just a delightful, fun piece.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I really enjoyed writing it. So happy it was fun to read.

Reviewer: pandemonium_213 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2007 - 05:39 pm
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

As you know, I love your fellows, and this is a scene that puts a big smile on my face.  Káno on his steed thundering down the slope, the ear-to-ear grin, fierce embrace, and Káno's sheer cockiness - great stuff.  In spite of "no angst" and my smile, I read this chilly scene of winter with a feeling of melancholy, knowing M & F's fates.  Nice ficlet and kudos to < 400 words!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks! So glad you enjoyed it. I know all about the melancholy, everytime Mike does a Beta for me on one of the stories in this sequence we end up by sniffing over the end to come. I'm gradually working my wa up to the sad part. I wouldn't have had the nerve to jump this far into the future if Dawn had not requested it for her birthday. (Hey, thanks for your great review of "Maitimo and Findekano" for MEFAs, I'm still fooling around with my review of your piece--it's so smart I feel compelled to write a smart review. Oh, well. I'll do my best."

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2007 - 10:34 am
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

Okay, time for a confession: I avoid slash stories, but I decided to give your story a try because of the 'teens' rating. I'm glad I did. When I finished reading my grin was probably as broad as Fingon's ;) Lovely ficlet. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much Robinka. That is one thing I would like to achieve with my slash stories--that one does not have to be a hard slash fan to like them. I am delighted that it worked for you.

Reviewer: Rhapsody Signed [Report This]
Date: October 05, 2007 - 04:58 am
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

Forget protocol, forget those banners; nobody is going to stop me now! Well okay, that is what I thought when Fingon raced on that hill, a youth that he reclaimed and a great gift of this watchful peace. This ficlet had a beautiful imagery and a lovely view on a carefree Fingon that nearly bursts of the screen here.

Author's Response: I am so excited at your description above of how this piece struck you--that is exactly what I had hoped to bring across to the reader. Wow! Thanks.

Reviewer: IgnobleBard Signed [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2007 - 03:09 pm
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

You know how I love your Fingon and Maedhros. It's so nice to see them happy in this peice, the calm before the storm. Your usual great job with descriptions and snappy dialogue makes this a great little interlude.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I am broken-hearted that you didn't sue your poem. Well, there will be other opportunities for that I hope! (Hey and by the way, your very first readings of my guys greatly contributed to the initial development of their characters (Fingon, in particular, Dawn gets most of the credit for Maedhros and their world--hey wait, shouldn't Tolkien come in their somewhere?)--not to mention your continuing comments!) Gotta get back to the textual complexities of Gil-galad. Thanks.

Reviewer: MithLuin Signed [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2007 - 03:30 pm
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

How sweet!  Fun and refreshing - a moment of innocence and freedom from care. 

Author's Response: Oh thank you!

Reviewer: Sulriel Signed [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2007 - 10:31 pm
Title: Early Winter at Himring Hill

Oh! This is much shorter than I expect from you and I was unprepared for the ending. Very nice though. I liked Fingon's excuse of the weather very well.



Author's Response:

Oh, thanks for reading and reviewing. You're right that I am long-winded and write a lot of words, but I write so slow! I started another piece about Elrond, but it will take weeks to finish so fell back on this, which was in my head for a birthday request from Dawn! I was just reading yours. It came out very well. Save my comments for the review.




You must login (register) to comment.