TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2015 - 11:30 am
Title: New Directions

Oh- BRIILIant! Hope you update soon and isn't it funny how things just sort of turn up when you don't expect it:) The harp is going to be significant- it has to be- it was Maglor's. Maybe it exercises some sort of siren-like influence on its listeners. Can't wait for an update!

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2015 - 07:40 am
Title: The Leaving

Fabulous and wonderful to see this update. If it was posted on Faeire I've missed it- so sory! I love the idea of Lindor getting the harp and Cirdan's satisfaction that he has at least one sailor- sugests there have been a few conversations going on behind closed doors! I like that sens e ofmore happing that you tell us. I am as excited as Lindir about what happens next... Hope you are working HARD on the next chapter:)



Author's Response:

Hey Ziggy o/ No, it's not on Faerie at all yet. I'll post it there when it's done, so I can give it some final edits and it gets read in at least one place without long, long gaps between chapters.  Lindir travels a lot, I can see him being a good sailor. Cirdan's probably learned to expect the worst by now, lol.  The harp was niggling at me, I knew there had to be more about it somewhere. Didn't quite expect it to turn up like this, but it's the kind of thing Gil would do. 

I currently have the next chapter open on the taskbar and am procrastinating wildly in all directions because it is intimidating me :D

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2015 - 09:24 am
Title: The Leaving

Beautiful, beautiful chapter. This story is so compelling. But reading this chapter I was totally mesmerized by the richness of the details and description and how you use those to layer the subtle understandings and curiosities among the main characters about one another--Erestor and Lindir, Lindir and Gil-galad and then introducing Glorfindel into the complicated personal relationships. ISadly, and this is where my self-absorption and envy comes in, it that the unfortunate effect upon me of feeling like I cannot write at all! I try to do things like this chapter and I never feel like I quite succeed. Congrats. Stunning job!

Maglor's harp takes my breath away every time it appears.

I cannot wait to read the next segment. Thank you so much for all the hard work and for sharing this with us. It really is a jewel.



Author's Response:

I edit and revise and whine to Red and am convinced each chapter is a disaster, and then you leave a review like this and completely blow me away! Thank you so much! I think I must keep this in the work folder for the rough days.

Tossing Glorfindel in to see what happened was interesting, he's given me ideas that weren't there before. I don't always plan this stuff - if I did I might spend less time wailing about what a mess it all is, of course. Maglor's harp turned up more or less of its own accord, but it felt logical and the kind of thing Gil would do. Now Lindir just has to do something useful with it...

Again, thank you. I'm still smiling.

Reviewer: maeglin Signed [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2015 - 08:21 pm
Title: Obscure Truths

Oh, yeah, Keiliss!  This story is developing into something really intriguing.  Lorien's orders -- so believable one gets the sense JRRT just didn't get around to writing that tale.    The Valar learn nothing and forget nothing, indeed!

Also, Celebrian's astonishment that some things actually happened before G was born -- classic!  Haha!



Author's Response:

Hi there, Maeglin. I'm glad you're enjoying this, thanks so much for stopping by to coomment. I think Galadriel's finding this hands-on solo parenting thing a bit intimidating at times *g*. The Valar --- yes, exactly!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2015 - 04:26 pm
Title: Fortresses

<i>To them the Noldor were all the same, bright-eyed outsiders who had brought the sky lights and warfare the like of which had never been seen before, people who rode tall horses with saddles and iron shoes, fought with the straight, two-handed sword, and conducted incomprehensible feuds amongst themselves.</i>

Great summary of the Noldor--all the relevant details! Ha! Terrific.

<i>“Get them up!” Later he would smile at the look on Celeborn’s face: he had done the impossible and made Galadriel’s husband jump. “The warriors, yours, mine – get everyone up, reinforce the watch, every trail. Secure that crossing down the river… Now, do it now! Sauron’s army is coming. There’s no time to lose, no time left…”</i>

I literally startled when I read that line myself! another priceless piece of writing. Continues to be a riveting read.

 



Author's Response:

Yep, I missed this one. For some reason I don't always notice when I haven't responded on here, something about the layout and the way my eyes follow it. Tonight I had a new review and thought to check I'd acknowledged everyone... Ha!

You liked my summary of the Noldor? That's the best acoolade ever! Thank you - there's not a lot in canon about differences in culture that's useful in this context, so it's back to world building and hoping it feels right to those who know more than I do. Kind of prep for trying to visualise Numenor *whimper*

I love writing the Imladris bits - glad it's working. Thank you :)

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2015 - 07:46 pm
Title: Fate's Choices

Terrific chapter. Beautifully rendered. I enjoyed reading it so much, but not above writerly envy I have to admit!

Just want to call attention to a few of the parts I really loved.

First a wonder of characterization conveyed in lovely description.

His sparse, eloquent movement of fingers and wrist accompanying the words spoke of royalty and Aman-born nobility, whose graceful gestures Erestor sometimes tried, with middling success, to duplicate. Gil-galad used them, as did the Lady. Even Gildor did – especially Gildor, Finwë’s grandson, who wore his royalty with the unconscious ease of a comfortable old cloak.

Your Galadriel, of course, is always stunning--vivid and real and yet always entirely other. A lot of messing with magic has really set her apart. Love how, although others are find her unsettling and intimidating, to Celebrian she is simply a parent, one whose perceived craziness requires a great deal of patience. I loved Galadriel trying to tease her about Halidir and Celebrian refusing to even engage on the subject. As the mother of a daughter, everything about the two of them rings so true for me.

I adore Malgalad's lines. Especially the last one.

Now – wake the child and scatter your stones. It is time to go.

Loved the battling magics in that part.

OMG! Erestor was as wonderful as ever and Gil-galad also, obviously!



Author's Response:

I so prefer the name Malgalad to Amdir, it has a wonderful ring to it, sort of rolls off the tongue. I liked finding the balance between him and Galadriel, watching them size each other up. Galadriel and Celebrian are always great to write, the dialogue just seems to happen without much help from me -- Celebrian has my younger daughter's voice and the same disbelieving stare :D

That piece about Glorfindel and the hand gestures - THANK YOU. I could picture it all so clearly but I struggled for days to find words to explain it.

This story comes slowly, so slowly. I can't tell you how much it helps to get a review like this, to know someone is reading and liking it and that the chapter comes across the way I hoped it would. Thank you so much! Now to start wrestling with the two chapters that had to wait for the AinA to be over so i can beat them into shape.

 

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: August 22, 2015 - 09:16 am
Title: Farewell to Balar

This was the painful chapter, I was ready and waiting to re-read. Very well done. But never entirely without humor when Gil is in one of your stories. A major reason I love them so much.

“Oh don’t be an ass, this is bad enough.”

Gil-galad let go of a reluctant laugh, Erestor didn’t join in. “I’ve missed that. There’s not many left here who’ll tell me I’m being an ass. All right, you killed an elf. Start at the beginning. How did this happen?”

This story is such a pleasure to read. Just thinking about the Avari and the Elven rings. Now that's an AU I would never write, but certainly love to read. 



Author's Response:

How odd. I do remember replying but there's nothing here :(  Some kind of internet glitch perhaps?  

I can't (won't, lol) say how long and how much work this chapter took. It was all in Gil-galad's point of view originally and I had to swap it round to Erestor's because I could see it would work better, something I hate doing.  I think it worked in the end, I hope so anyhow.

The Avari with a couple of rings of power....  I might not be the person to write that idea, but I would be right there to read it. That's the kind of AU I loe - change one detail and see how far the picture distorts. (I still want to try Curiouswombat's bunny, in which Gil-galad marries Elwng).

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2015 - 03:42 pm
Title: Obscure Truths

A wonderful update, Keiliss. Where to start? I think it's Gil I feel most for- he will beleive that erestor has a thing going with Lindir and that he does not want him anymore- quite a shock for a king, and a High King at that! And then Erestor's real motive and concern- Badger. Yes- that will, I am quite sure, come back to haunt him at some point. Best he gets it all out there now, as well as what he said to Annatar. (I need ot go back and read those tales- get some deep inspiration!!) I do love your Gil. I was never interested in him before and now he seems very present, very full as a character, intersting, assertive, confident- wise, and a little vulnerable.

 

OOh- and Glorfindel -well! Thsi si a real departure from the usual. I love that he has a secret mission- I know you have hinted at that, prob told the story, elsewhere. I have always htought that was part of Gandalf's mission but I love this idea- it makes perfect sense that this is why Glorfindel alone has been returned, and he is just very careful, waiting, watching. And then there is the backdrop of the war in Eregion, and Numenor to be persuaded to join in and help defeat Sauron. For the time being at least. Great ideas, so very satisfying to read this.



Author's Response:

I think Erestor is one of the very few people who've ever got through Gil's defenses, made him vulnerable, and the whole thing must have been pretty unsettling for him. This chapter was not easy to get right - I knew what I was trying to do, but emotions aren't easy, especially when there's a fairly strict pov and that person is a bit confused about his own feelings -- there were a lot of rewrites, lol. Getting a review like this makes all the pain worthwhile. And yes, I'm pretty sure that whole business with Badger is going to come back and bite them - not any time soon, but it's there.

I think Gandalf and the rings is Ancarion, yes? Glorfindel -- if you have time, check Glorfindel's dream in the last chapter of the first part, BB: The Road. He's only slowly finding out what those over in the West want from him  and he's not very comfortable. Plus he promised himself at the start that he'd make up his own mind about things, not blindly follow orders this time.  Glorfindel himself - I don't know if this will make sense, but I made two tiny changes to the way I normally write him, he has a girl waiting for him across the sea, and his eyes are grey rather than blue. And they changed how I hear his voice, gave him more of an edge -- how much of an edge remains to be seen.  Of everyone in this story, I find him the most interesting to write.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2015 - 09:37 am
Title: Seeking Shelter

I love your Galadriel and her rather brusque and not exactly text-book parenting skills. I always feel that Celeborn is the one Bri is closest to. And I love this introduction Haldir has to his future queen! As always your descriptions are so textured and sensuous, and hte story telling sublime.



Author's Response:

Eish, I wish you could edit comments here. Just spotted my typo in the previous reply - that was meant to be 'thanks so much for the comment' --- :D

I think Galadriel is the kind of mum who all your friends would think was incredibly cool and non-fussy and you would do a lot of teenage cringing over. There's no lack of love, just she's not a very fluffy, mumsy kind of person and she forgets about basics like dinner time and kissing the hurts better. I think Celeborn would be much better at that. I always feel sorry for Haldir in this chapter. They do not teach you about this kind of situation in basic training *g*.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2015 - 06:28 am
Title: New Directions

Just having fun reading the next installment of your wonderful Eregion fics- or fix as I have begun to think of them:) I was seeking something about elrond and as always, your work just enlightens me, makes me think- oh yes, of course. That's how it must have been!



Author's Response:

One of the things I really like about Elrond is the way he grows and changes over time, just as people always do. He's the boy raised by his parents' enemies, he's the young man interested in healing but carrying a sword for his king, a military commander, then a healer, a husband, a father, the man shepherding his people through a time of change and decline -- the movies left me with a lasting impression that in the final years in Rivendell he was a bit like the last British Raj, responsible for overseeing the transition and making sure his people got safely on the boat for home before things got too edgy.....

You see? You always get me wanting to ramble on about other things!! (not that I need much excuse to ramble on about Elrond).

Which is a very roundabout way of saying hi, that's so much for the comment, and I hope you found something helpful :)

 

Reviewer: Angelica Signed [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2015 - 08:31 am
Title: New Directions

Yay for posting here!

Every new chapter is an excuse to reread and reenjoy (?) the older ones. I was never much of a Gil-galad fan until I met yours, here and in other stories, and wow! *falls in love*

Looking forward to more chapters



Author's Response:

I love my king too :D I'm posting fairly slowly because I don't have enough chapters done and know eventually there'll be much longer waits on here. Trying to get further ahead (also trying to get more done before I tackle the AinA). I'm very flattered that you're rereading - thank you sooo much!

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2015 - 02:15 am
Title: Seeking Shelter

Poor Haldir, trumped by a slip of a girl! How embarrassing.

I love Galadriel's guilt here about being what she deems less than the perfect mother. Fun to see something rattle her confidence a little.

“Before you were born...”

She sounded impressed: Galadriel was less so. “I didn’t wake full grown at Cuivienen, dear,” she said tartly.

I know exactly how Galadriel feels. My grandson asked me what year I was born last night and then said, "Wow!" at my answer.

Enjoying re-reading this very much.



Author's Response:

Anyone over thirty (or the elven equivalent) is ancient, yes! Not so diplomatic, Alex *g*

I did feel for Haldir. Nothing about keeping the Wood safe from orcs and stray southerners ever prepared him for Celebrian.

I meant to wait till I had at least ten chapters up before I started posting here, but it's taking longer than I ever imagined (too many smaler projects that it's had to give way to). I'm hoping this will be incentive to start working a bit faster.

Flattered you're re-reading. Thank you, glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2015 - 12:48 am
Title: Seeking Shelter

Good to see you posting this here! I'm so glad that the story has been progressing well, recently.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Himring. I thought I might be enough ahead to start posting here without so many of the really long gaps that have kept happening, lol. 




You must login (register) to comment.