TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Comments For An Ordinary Woman

You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2013 - 09:47 pm
Title: An Ordinary Woman

I had an occasion to recommend this story on Tumblr today and re-read. It has stood the test of time.



Author's Response:

Awesome! Thank you! I'll stop by Tumblr later today, once I'm home. :)

Reviewer: Jedi_Tarja Signed [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2010 - 07:46 pm
Title: An Ordinary Woman

Beautiful descriptive language and what a great concept. I loved this.

Reviewer: digdigil Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2008 - 11:49 am
Title: An Ordinary Woman

Dawn, this is such a delightful story!  Beautifully written, as only you can do.  I love the descriptions of the characters, such as Daeron.  Hee!Hee!  The humour in it is wonderful.  You show how well peoples' expectations can become much too high of "celebrities" or of people whom one thinks one should revere or admire.  Your Luthien is very refreshing.  She's an ordinary woman, maybe, but not at all common-place.

 

The surprise ending was also a delight.  Thank you so much for taking on the task of writing this story.  It has surpassed all my expectations. 

Reviewer: Alquawende Anonymous [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2008 - 10:34 am
Title: An Ordinary Woman

I really enjoyed this, especially with the challenge you had. I really also liked how the elves were more human. Thanks for writing!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I am occasionally guilty of interpretting requests in a way that I don't think the requestee intended ... but I hope that the finished product makes up for that. :) In this case, I'm really surprised by the positive response this piece has generated so far ... so thanks for that! :)

Reviewer: MithLuin Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2008 - 09:51 am
Title: An Ordinary Woman

Hehe, I liked your humor, and felt the magic was only partially taken out.  After all, even with Finrod's role here, the meeting of Beren and Luthien has more than a touch of fate to it.  And the mead they drink sounds just like how Tolkien describes elf-wine like miruvor ;).  No one can ever live up to the legend about themselves. 

The Noldor being such show-offs that they cannot have enjoyable parties seemed all too appropriate - poor Finrod!  And his inquisitiveness and desire to understand fits his character so well. 

I did miss Melian from your story, though.  Is she also 'ordinary,' or does she still retain a bit of the supernatural, being a Maia? 

 



Author's Response:

Much as I love the Noldor, I love also to make fun of them, their seriousness, their ostentatiousness. Actually, Finrod is frequently my comic muse for this (and Finarfin, too, to a slightly lesser extent).

I didn't give much thought to Melian for this story, to be honest. I should definitely account to her in some way--I see that now--even if to excuse why she might not be present. One day, maybe ten years from now, I would like to really study the Beren and Luthien story and write something longer on it, along these lines (sans stabs at humor and bad puns ;), a more realistic version of the story.

Thank you for reading and taking the time to review! :)

Reviewer: pandemonium_213 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 28, 2008 - 08:27 am
Title: An Ordinary Woman

Ah, ha!  I recall that discussion surrounding Luthien and the BoLT2, and I see that it bore fruit.  As usual, your exquisite detailing brings the characters alive and highlights their humanity. Your humor shines through.  At the risk of tossing too many spoliers in the review, I'll leave these tidbits for other readers to discover, but I will say that  I heard Thingol say "Oy!" rather than "Ai!" ;^) 

Finrod's characterization is great, but it's Luthien who really does it for me.  Here, you've captured an appealing combination of self-deprecation and striking introspection on her part.

Often, it is ordinary that becomes all the more remarkable. 



Author's Response:

I agree completely. That is part of the reason that I wrote this because, to me, the Beren and Luthien story is less compelling because I can't relate to them as real people. But once I start believing that I could be Luthien (and Bobby is Beren? :^P), then I am all the more compelled; their deeds do seem remarkable and they do become heroes.

Of course, I know that there's another school of thought on this where the story's magic lies in ... well, its magic.

Thingol saying "Oy!" rather than "Ai!"--lol, I can hear that too, now that you mention it (and have probably forever changed how I will hear that part of the story!)

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: January 28, 2008 - 06:58 am
Title: An Ordinary Woman

May I add my vote regarding a longer work about Beren and Luthien? I'd very much like to read such a story :)

Well done. I enjoyed your story very much! Thanks a lot for sharing it.



Author's Response:

Maybe someday! The only problem is them ... *points to Feanorians* ;) It's certainly a topic that appeals to me, as well as a challenge.

Also, thanks for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2008 - 06:53 pm
Title: An Ordinary Woman

So much better than the original. (I know. I am a complete heretic when comes to Beren and Luthien.) Adored Finrod in this one too. "Not to change the world, but to understand it": both the weakness and the strength of Finrod very well described, whether or not that was your intention. 

Author's Response:

Thanks, Oshun! An evol part of me wants to do a longer story someday about the "real Beren and Luthien." Only it's not a story I'm overwhelmed with to start and I don't know if I have the strength to put up with the inevitable, "You've gone and ruined the magic, you heretic!" that it would generate. ;)

Also, I want you to know that I got your last email. I've been very busy with this upcoming SWG project (that should be revealed in the next couple of days, maybe earning me a bit of a reprieve), but I'll get the story back to you ASAP. I'm chomping at the bit to read it!




You must login (register) to comment.