TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Tyelca Signed [Report This]
Date: August 10, 2017 - 09:54 am
Title: Ride the Night to the End

Although I do not ship Maedhros/Fingon, I found this to be a very enjoyable read, mostly because Maedhros' pain came through very clearly, and I could really emphatize with him. Well done!



Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Lyra Signed [Report This]
Date: August 03, 2017 - 06:03 am
Title: Ride the Night to the End

I loved how you managed to interweave the song lyrics and the story - I would have associated it with a different couple, but you make it work absolutely perfectly for Maedhros and Fingon. The story itself, as any story that follows these two to the bitter end, is heartrending, but I love that you gave them a chance to say goodbye. A very moving ride indeed!

Author's Response: Thank you! It would work for other couples, I'm sure, but the story just came to my mind. I love the song. :)

Reviewer: Erulisse Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2017 - 07:04 pm
Title: Ride the Night to the End

Tears. Not a lot of stories pull me in that direction but this one did. So very well done, my dear friend! 

 

- Erulisse (one L)



Author's Response: Thank you, hon! It means a lot to me that you like the story. I just love the song and got inspired, and Maedhros and Fingon came to my mind.

Reviewer: NelyafinweFeanorion Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2017 - 09:35 pm
Title: Ride the Night to the End

Oh my this was lovely and heart-rending and perfect. 

He was never the same after Fingon's death. I can totally see Fingon somehow knowing that and trying to find a way to say goodbye when the end came. 

Well done. 



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very happy you liked it. I can also see Fingon doing something, even ignoring Nmo's calls for a little while, in order to say good-bye to Maedhros, and try to lessen the pain.

Reviewer: Grundy Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2017 - 02:06 pm
Title: Ride the Night to the End

Poor Maedhros! At least Fingon knew to make sure he didn't do anything drastic, and give him some hope.



Author's Response: I think that Fingon would not go to Mandos until he made sure that Maedhros was alright! Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 - 07:48 pm
Title: Ride the Night to the End

Oh, poor Maedhros! Lovely and well written - I've never been a fan of Maedhros/Fingon because the incest bothers me, but you really made this work for me somehow. I'm glad.



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad too! Cousins can marry with a special permission in my country, so it's never bothered me, but I've realized it bothers

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 - 05:16 pm
Title: Ride the Night to the End

Well, that was certainly an old-fashioned love song story! Well done. Very moving and intense.



Author's Response: Thank you! The melody and the words have always made me feel inspired. Maedhros and Fingon came to my mind, and well, the story almost wrote itself alone. I'm happy you like it!

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 - 03:39 pm
Title: Ride the Night to the End

You know this is going to break your heart when you start reading-and it does. Poor Maedhros - I always think Fingon had the better end of th edeal.



Author's Response: I know, poor Maedhros. But at least he got to "see" Fingon again before he left for Mandos.




You must login (register) to review.