TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Comments For I Ain't Got No Body

You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: Lingwiloke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2014 - 02:23 pm
Title: Chapter 1

Ahh, so funny! I remember stumbling over this a few times already, and it never fails to make me laugh! :)



Author's Response:

Thanks for your comments, Ling. I'm glad it's a story you continue to enjoy, and I appreciate you commenting to let me know. It was a fun one to write.

Reviewer: firstdayofwinter Signed [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2008 - 02:39 pm
Title: Chapter 1

OMG i really laughed my ass off reading this one (excuse the language)

no dangerous sea voyages for you! you are forbidden to shower ever again! xDDDDDD

and the last scene with the bonzai, i can *see* it in front of my eyes, it's so anime and manga like, too! xD (never mind how bonzais came to valinor xDDD)



Author's Response: Aren't all the plants and animals ever represented in Valinor? lol I liked the idea of Namo tying to find ways to relax and Glorfindel popping up and disturbing him. I've known a few people like that. Always calling when you're in the shower or whatever. Thanks for commenting. I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: Alassante Signed [Report This]
Date: June 24, 2008 - 05:14 pm
Title: Chapter 1

I wanted to leave a copy of your MEFA review on here so you had it with the story =)

 

I think it is safe to say that Ignoble Bard is carving out his own path in the Silmarillion humor category. After reading his hysterical 'The Unbeatable Smugness of Being Feanor', I knew he had a somewhat twisted sense of humor (Which I LOVE btw) and this story did not disappoint. Its rare to find someone who writes so well and at the same time is so dang funny! He is the George Carlin of the Simarillion Fanfiction. Writing about Glorfindel's death, repeated death rather, was perfect - made the elf lord seem a little less perfect. And not many of his deaths were something to be proud of either. I keep thinking of mother's warnings about 'we can't have nice things'. Apparently wtih Glorfindel he 'can't have a great body'. Even the title is hysterical - I keep hearing the song in my head!



Author's Response: Wow, Alassante, this is awesome! Thanks for your comments and thanks for your vote. It's kind of overwhelming and touching that this story is getting such a good response. I can't thank you enough. The comparison to George Carlin is a welcome compliment as well, especially in light of his recent passing. I very much appreciate that. "We can't have nice things" ROFL My mom used to say the same to us. I guess it was true, we were pretty rambuctious. I didn't know if anyone would remember the song. I'm glad you do. :-)

Reviewer: Tarion Anarore Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2008 - 11:36 am
Title: Chapter 1

This is incredibly amusing! I especially love Namo and his lint brush.

Author's Response:

The Valarian Lint Brush (TM). Never go into a body chamber without one nearby. ;-) Thanks for your comments!

Reviewer: Dawn Felagund Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2008 - 09:32 am
Title: Chapter 1

I'm going to echo everyone else and say that this was really funny and most enjoyable. I think you're starting to corner the Silm humor market. ;)



Author's Response: Thanks, Dawn, I'm glad you like this one. Is the Silmarillion humor market large? lol

Reviewer: Robinka Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2008 - 03:27 am
Title: Chapter 1

LOL! Bloody brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks, Robinka! I'm glad it made you laugh. :-)

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2008 - 05:05 pm
Title: Chapter 1

This was "rolling-on-the-floor" funny!   Methinks Glorfie is doing it on purpose.  :-) 

I liked the "mundane" activities of Námo seems to be doing whenever Glorfindel finds him--esp. the "scalded" cat line.



Author's Response: You know, I think Glorfindel had an ulterior motive too. He sure didn't try very hard to stay out of trouble, did he? ;-) Thanks for your comments, Whitewave, I appreciate them.

Reviewer: Feta Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2008 - 02:54 pm
Title: Chapter 1

Ok, I did already review this on fanfiction.net, but I couldn’t help reading it again... and it’s just as funny the second time.  You were quite creative with thinking up ways for him to die.  My favorite bits were probably when he said “It’s a little tight in the crotch,” and the ending – “Ever try to feed jerky to a Warg?”  Ingenious, truly.  :D



Author's Response: I appreciate your review on FFN, Feta,  and thanks so much for commenting here as well. I was about to run out of ways to kill Glorfindel, that's why it's so short. lol I'm glad the story gave you a laugh. It's silly but kinda fun. Thanks again.

Reviewer: Rhapsody Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2008 - 10:46 am
Title: Chapter 1

Oh dear, I am not sure if I can point out what the best part is... from the bodychamber thing to a sort of CPR where Fëar are being put back in the body, it all had me giggling madly. I love this concept and it's just once more so well executed!

Oshun nominated it already for the mefa's, but that was my first thought after I read it :) Congrats! 

 



Author's Response:

I figured Namo had to have some way to reembody those Elves and if he has a chamber, he has a lot more leisure time for tea and stuff. :-) Thanks for your comments, Rhapsody, I'm glad you like it. And I appreciate your thought on the MEFA's as well.

Reviewer: pandemonium_213 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2008 - 07:37 am
Title: Chapter 1

My laptop's monitor is now Jackson Pollocked with today's coffee. This is -- in a word -- hootworthy. "Looking boffo" (I love that term) and the Tapestry Accident sent me over th edge.

I'm glad oshun convinced you to post this.  This is a perfectly hilarious addition to your comic compendium of "The Unbearable Smugness of Being (Fëanor)," "Texas Gay Boy..." "Elven Legends," and "A Boy and His Lob," all of which have done happy damage to my computer's monitor.

All right, time to get the cleaning solution... 



Author's Response:

Thanks Pandemonium! I've always thought of Glorfindel as a "boffo" kinda guy. Apparently Namo thought so too. *wink wink, nudge nudge* As always, I appreciate your comments and I'm glad you have the same weird sense of humor as me. ;-)

Reviewer: IgnobleBard Signed [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2008 - 10:05 pm
Title: Chapter 1

It was supposed to be a "badfic" remember? lol But I'm glad you like it so much. And I had to throw Fingon in there just for you. *grin* Thanks for liking it and thanks for thinking it's good enough to post.

Reviewer: oshun Signed [Report This]
Date: June 05, 2008 - 09:58 pm
Title: Chapter 1

I think it is a scream and very clever. I think my favorite line is "it's a little tight in crotch." That is so funny. And the response to it as well. Those lines and the straw episode. Using Fingon as the punch-line there cracks me up every time I read it. Sorry if I embarrassed you by making you post it. If you didn’t want to share, you should have written such an hilarious, irreverent piece.




You must login (register) to comment.