TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Comments For Whispering Winds

You must login (register) to comment.

Reviewer: Klose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2010 - 10:53 am
Title: Chapter 12

I've been vaguely aware of this story for years, now, but for some reason I never got around to reading it. Which I regret, because it's excellent - very well-written!

I love the dynamic you set up between Caranthir and Ninglorrin, Caranthir's haughtiness making him unable to admit his feelings, and she in turn is a strong, well-rounded character who is clearly his 'match' and she fits so seamlessly into the setting of Beleriand in the First Age. The tension between them is well done, too. 

This is just so well-written - the bit about the apples, or Caranthir babbling about the deer... it's the sort of dramatic humour I want to emulate in my own writing. I hope one day I can write a romantic drama which is as engaging and enjoyable to read as this was.

Thanks for sharing (and posting this here!). :)

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 07:12 pm
Title: Chapter 12

I just included this in my list of favorites!  Very, very well done!  The quotes from the books were fantastic, the details and the Feanorian personality quirks were very plausible and yes, this story is very, very believable.  The fate of Ambarussa explains very well why they were the ones who led the attack in Sirion. All in all, you've managed to weave all of these components into one very enjoyable story!

The ending too was priceless--at least they'd be together and so very apt for the title. I like Ninglorin very much-- she's a very strong, interesting OFC and more than a match for Caranthir.  Their sojourn in the East is a good gap-filler I think since there were many unaccounted years during the siege.  I'm going to read all your stuff after this. Thanks for sharing this lovely story.

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 07:05 pm
Title: Chapter 11

A heart-breaking end to their romance.  It's just like Caranthir to seek out the "secret passages".  You painted a very good picture of how the Doriath kinslaying could have happened, especially the Feanorian "blood lust". I liked the words you wrote for Celegorm's speech and the reaction of the Feanorians to it. The battle between Caranthir and Celeborn was very exciting to read as well. 

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 06:55 pm
Title: Chapter 10

The chapter has such an ominous ending, but it's well worth reading!  The scene with the Feanorians was most enjoyable, even if it was a bit tense. I like the sibling "hierarchy" in play there, especially the plausible way you painted Curufin.

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 06:38 pm
Title: Chapter 8

What a hawwt scene, especially with the leaves and the honey.  I loved the part where she took off a lot of leaves when he commented about the dwarves. 

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 06:33 pm
Title: Chapter 7

I'm positively melting--this chapter is so romantic!  Caranthir's lines are fit for a movie! I also loved the details you placed like the wedding and bethrothal customs. It's good that he got to chat with Maglor!

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 06:25 pm
Title: Chapter 6

A heartbreaking and heart-warming chapter with lots of Feanorian goodness. 

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 06:21 pm
Title: Chapter 5

Delightful character sketch of Maglor, especially in her POV. I really like how you manage to bring out the individual personalities of the Feanorians.

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 06:15 pm
Title: Chapter 4

What a delightful scene! It reminds me a lot of Pride and Prejudice!  It's good that she did not accept him though to teach him a lesson.  Very, very good stuff you've got here.

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 06:07 pm
Title: Chapter 3

Oh I really, really enjoyed the interaction of Caranthir (who I usually imagine as grim) with the Ambarussa!  I can't imagine the twins as very serious either since they have older brothers for that sort of thing.  ;-D  I liked the Ambarussa's "philosophy" here and their merciless teasing and tickling of their serious, love-sick brother.

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 05:54 pm
Title: Chapter 2

I really enjoy the "culture" clash of the Nandor and the Noldor here and you did a very good job in fleshing this out.  The Feanorian fancrone in me especially loved the "first meeting" of Caranthir and Ninglorin, and had to smile at how jealous and protective he was of her.

The scene where Caranthir is thinking about the oath and that he is a prisoner in his own body was quite dramatic and the mention of Nerdanel was very sweet. Maedhros' custom of the order of eating sounds so plausible as well. I just love your Feanorians!

Reviewer: whitewave Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 05:46 pm
Title: Chapter 1

I've read this before and I really enjoyed reading this both times! I just love how you paint Caranthir here with the typical Noldorin pride.  Ninglorin is more than a match for him, I think, with her calm but "deep" personality.

Reviewer: Los Gloriol Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 01:50 pm
Title: Chapter 3

Lol! I loved the twins in this chapter and the fondness they show for Caranthir. I have always wondered their age as well since it doesn't really say. But for some reason I always had this idea that they were a bit immature.

Reviewer: Los Gloriol Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 01:46 pm
Title: Chapter 1

My favorite line in this chapter: "You," she answered simply, "You hunger yet you refuse sustenance, why would you do that?"

 I found it very poetic. I think you have Caranthir's disposition very well suited to the character. I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: Lady MSM Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2008 - 08:01 am
Title: Chapter 12

Yay, you've posted this story here! I've read it before, and I think it's totally fabulous. I love your sons of Feanor.




You must login (register) to comment.