TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: just_jenni Signed [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2017 - 11:35 am
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

This is the first poem of yours I've read I think!  (Not that I know how many you've written.)

 

The last two stanzas affected me emotionally (I actually thought of Rogue One while I was reading them).  I think you effectively illustrated how small we all are but  also how we each can leave our mark on the world.

 

I think I don't read poetry enough - this was lovely and I enjoyed it very much.  :)



Author's Response:

Thank you! I don't write much poetry; it's not a form that naturally inspires me (especially fan poems). But this grew naturally out of Noliel's piece.

Thanks again for reading and commenting! <3

Reviewer: Odinsbard Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2011 - 01:17 pm
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

A great poem! I doubt you were going for a fixed metre in it, yet I felt with the right labour it could easily be done and brought to the plain of great verse; lots of variations between iambic and trochaic.



Author's Response:

Thank you! :) You're right that I was going more with what sounded right in my head rather than going for a fixed meter. Honestly, I usually only use a traditional meter when working on a project for the medieval re-creation group I play with! Perhaps one day I'll gird my loins and tackle making this one pure iambic or pure trochaic. ;) Thanks again for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: Jedi_Tarja Signed [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2010 - 07:43 pm
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

Such a beautiful and heartbreaking poem. I can almost hear Pharazon saying it in his grief. I always wondered what went through his mind when he discovered what had become of Numenor or if he ever found out. I like the version of him and Zimraphel in PoME.  It makes more sense. Noliel did a wonderful job on the illustration too. Zimraphel's horror and grief is captured with a great amount of accuracy. There is even beauty in her expression too.

Reviewer: Klose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2010 - 11:36 am
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

First of all, regards to Noliel for the utterly gorgeous artwork! It's so sad and expressive.

And Dawn - wow, hat a beautiful poem! Sad, tragic, and even romantic in a sort of damaged sense. Nicely done. :)

Reviewer: Independence1776 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2009 - 07:09 pm
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

Wonderful artwork!

A stunning poem that sent shivers down my spine when Miriel died with Pharaz˘n's full knowledge of the details.

Reviewer: Fireworks Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2009 - 10:35 am
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

Both the poem and the artwork are amazing. It's such a tragic tale, such a tragic ending... Thanks, both of you, for sharing this.

Reviewer: SurgicalSteel Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2009 - 08:09 am
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

Sorry for the double comment - Dawn, the poem is just heart-wrenching, too. Marvelous job!



Author's Response:

No worries--one for each of the coauthors. :) Thank you for reading and reviewing; when Noliel sent me her artwork, the poem pretty much wrote itself in a single sitting scribbled into my journal. She's created a powerful piece for sure! :)

Reviewer: SurgicalSteel Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2009 - 08:08 am
Title: "Zimraphel" by Noliel and "I who loved her" by Dawn Felagund

Noliel, your artwork is absolutely stunning!




You must login (register) to review.