TheSilmarillionWriters'Guild

Home  |  Most Recent  |  Authors  |  Titles  |  Search  |  Series  |  Podfics  |  Top Tens  |  Login  |    |  




Reviews For Peculiar

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Blossom Signed [Report This]
Date: February 23, 2013 - 08:53 pm
Title: The Lightless Shore

I just wanted to pop in and write a review. I am still enjoying this story immensely. It's always a joy when I see an update!

re. earlier review. Yup, I tend to check in here and Faerie (Tolkien fanfiction. 'Faerie' started in answer to changes at lotrfanfiction.com. Some of the authors whose works I enjoy migrated there).

Reviewer: Spodbodders Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2013 - 08:06 am
Title: The Lightless Shore

'Course I'm all reading! I've got to say, this is possibly my favourite fic - ever. Your writing is really, really beautiful, and I love watching how the characters develop. Also, your Rumil is brilliant - just the right mix of emotion and sarcasm. I always look forward to seeing a new chapter come up, and I honestly don't know why it's taken me this long to write a review.

I hope I can expect more chapters to come, as this is such good reading!

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2012 - 09:49 am
Title: The Lightless Shore

Wonderful story!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Silver Trails! ^_^

Reviewer: Blossom Signed [Report This]
Date: October 02, 2011 - 08:17 pm
Title: Wine and Words

Hi,

I just wanted to say that I really enjoy reading this story. I've previously followed it on ffnet, but I am now following it on here. I loved the latest chapter and I enjoy the character development, as each chapter unfolds - Finwe, Rumil and Feanor + others.

Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Blossom!  I wondered how many people followed this story on both sites.  I guess there are a few hard-core Silm fans out there who will go anywhere and everywhere to get their fix (me included!)

Reviewer: Erulisse Signed [Report This]
Date: May 23, 2011 - 02:48 am
Title: The Tower

I have rarely started the week out with a happier outlook than seeing that you had a new chapter in this tale up for reading.  I loved the first three and can't wait to bury myself in the fourth and savor it.  Thanks for making my day!

- Erulisse (one L)

 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Erulisse! I'm glad you like it so much and I hope you had a great tim burying yourself in the chapter and reading all about Rúmil and Fëanáro's bickering. :)

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2010 - 06:09 pm
Title: Vision

I would very much like to read another story about Fanor. You write him so well. He is one of my favorite characters and I enjoyed your version of him.

Author's Response:

Genuinely, I am a dumbass. I replied to the wrong review and then realised I couldn't delete it. Really need to learn how to use this site properly. :

Thanks again for the review, though. I like writing about Fëanor, but I don't think I'm ready to jump inside his head yet. Not sure if I'll ever be.  I like having him left a mystery. :)

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2010 - 05:11 pm
Title: Meeting

This was a very enjoyable reading!

Author's Response:

It's been so long since I've done this that I had completely forgot how to reply to people on here. Better late than never, I guess. :)

Thanks, Silver Trails. I think that's the most civil Rúmil and your Finwë have been to each other in this story. Not sure if it's ever likely to get any better, at least any time soon, haha.

Reviewer: Silver Trails Signed [Report This]
Date: August 03, 2010 - 08:43 pm
Title: Reconciliation

I like your Rmil and your Finw and the way they interact with each other. I'll check the rest tomorrow, but I am enjoying the story greatly so far.

Author's Response:

It's been so long since I've done this that I had completely forgot how to reply to people on here. Better late than never, I guess. :)

Thanks, Silver Trails. I think that's the most civil Rúmil and your Finwë have been to each other in this story. Not sure if it's ever likely to get any better, at least any time soon, haha.

Reviewer: Himring Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2010 - 08:17 pm
Title: Vision

Just to say, I really like the way your Feanaro and your Rumil interact, and I also think you've done very good work on some of the minor characters. You seem to be striking a good balance between the lighter side of things and the darker themes. I've read comparatively little so far that treats Feanaro at this particular age (at any greater length, that is).



Author's Response:

Thanks, Himring. :) My two favourite genres to write for are humour and horror. I guess that's where the weird sort of balance comes from in this fic. I like to be good to minor characters too. The world is a big place and full of interesting people. Instead of making a random Noldorin guard, why not give him a nickname and huge hands. Doesn't take that much effort, but it pays off in making your story more realistic, I guess.

Reviewer: Lissas Elves Signed [Report This]
Date: June 01, 2010 - 03:09 pm
Title: Meeting

Fascinating read!

Of course Rúmil's objections to Finwë's second marriage would appeal to the young boy.

And how clever to let Rúmil and Fëanaro come together over linguistics. It's quite obvious that you are interested in and know a great deal about such subjects. No, it is not boring at all. :-)

Looking much forward to next chapter!

 



Author's Response:

My first review at the SWG!  I am strangely excited about this...

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, Lissas Elves.  I'm really glad you didn't find Rúmil and Fëanáro's writing system chat boring.  Canonically, it was the most logical way to bring them together, and since I studied stuff like that at uni (though only in a historical context), I thought, "Hey!  There is a way to use this largely useless knowledge!"  But having also put on my story-writer's hat, I realised that if I overdid the technical stuff, I would bore readers to death.  I guess I've struck the right balance, and that makes me happy. :)

Thanks again, and I'll make sure to check your stuff out! :)




You must login (register) to review.